End of the Year Book Survey!

2015 end of the year book survey

Hello and welcome to the first tag-ish thing I’m doing on a Friday! This is more of a survey (comprised of about half a million questions) than a tag, but I saw it on Joey’s blog at Thoughts and Afterthoughts and it looked really fun so here I am. The survey was started on The Perpetual Page-Turner’s blog if you’re also interested in participating. Let’s get right into this.
(P.S.: You can click on the title of any of these books and be taken to either my review of it or the Goodreads page. It’s a surprise)

2015 Reading Stats

How many books did you read?
I honestly have no idea. I started using Goodreads when I started my blog (July), and for a while I don’t think I was using it correctly. So, keeping track incorrectly since July, 38?

Number of re-reads?
I re-read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in the illustrated edition… and maybe The Fault in Our StarsThat could’ve been 2014. I’m a mess.

Genre you read from the most?
Contemporary, without a doubt. They’re just so cute.

Best in Books

Best book you read in 2015?
What kind of question is this? I have no idea, especially considering that I don’t remember half the books I actually read during this year. Can I just cheat and say Harry Potter? Harry Potter.

Book you were excited about and thought you would love but you didn’t?
ME AND EARL AND THE DYING GIRL *sigh* I was so disappointed with this one. Even in my review I was trying to convince myself that I liked it more than I did. It was more of a two star book for me honestly.
Also, 100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith. I read those two books back-to-back and I was incredibly underwhelmed.

Book that you pushed most people to read (and they did) in 2015?
Definitely The Lunar Chronicles. They’re just fantastic books. Why wouldn’t you want to read them?

Best series you started in 2015? Best sequel of 2015? Best series ender of 2015?
Woah, rapid-fire! Okay… Best series starter of the year has to go to Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff because that book absolutely destroyed me. Best sequel goes to The Heir by Kiera Cass and series ender… you should know this by now.
Winter by Marissa Meyer.

Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?
Definitely Sophie Kinsella with Finding Audrey. That was such a good book. Or Jenny Han with her To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before duology. Like, how had I not read Jenny Han before?

Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
Illuminaeagain. It’s a 600 page science fiction book… AH.

Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of 2015?
Illuminae. I’m sensing a theme.

Book you read in 2015 that you’re most likely to re-read next year?
Throne of GlassI read it early 2015 (or maybe late 2014, but who knows) and I would like to continue on with the series but don’t remember anything.

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?
I really like the cover for Match Point by Erynn Mangum. It’s really cute and colorful and goes with the story well.

Most memorable character of 2015? 
Iko from The Lunar Chronicles. Gotta love her.

Most beautifully written book you read in 2015? 
The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult. Maybe not in terms of the actual writing and words used, but all of the different perspectives and side-stories made it an incredibly powerful story.

Most thought-provoking/life-changing book of 2015?
Neil Gaiman’s Make Good Art speech. This was such a great message that I really enjoyed reading.

Book you can’t believe you waited until 2015 to read?
Paper Towns by John Green. I bought it immediately after I finished The Fault in Our Stars like, two years ago, and I never got around to reading it until a very long car ride this summer when I discovered that IT IS A FANTASTIC BOOK.

Favorite passage/quote of 2015? 

“Did you see any rice in there? Maybe we could fill Cinder’s head with it.”
Everyone stared at him.
“You know, to…absorb the moisture, or something. Isn’t that a thing?”
“We’re not putting rice in my head.”

-Marissa Meyer, Winter

Shortest and longest book you read in 2015?
Shortest – Make Good Art by Neil Gaiman (at approximately 80 pages)
Longest – Winter by Marissa Meyer (at approximately 800 pages)

Book that shocked you the most?
The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang and Sonny Liew. I picked it up on a complete whim and I ended up really enjoying it.

OTP of the year?
Thorne and Cress from Winter, Kady and Ezra from Illuminae, Ron and Hermione from Harry Potter (LOL).

Favorite non-romantic relationship of the year?
Nimona and Ballister Blackheart from Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. Their sidekick/super-villain relationship was hilarious.

Favorite book you read in 2015 from an author you’ve read previously?
Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. Gotta love Morgan Matson.

Best book you read in 2015 based solely on someone’s recommendation/peer pressure?
I don’t think I really read any books like that this year… but maybe next year. I did ask for a lot of books for Christmas based on recommendations, and I’ll be reading those soon. 🙂

Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?
Ezra from Illuminae is pretty cool. Although, if life as we know it has to end and I have to be cooped up on a sketchy spaceship to meet him, I’ll pass.

Best 2015 debut you read?
I know that as soon as I post this I’m going to remember some, but I honestly can’t think of any debuts that I really loved this year. Be sure to leave any good recommendations below!

Best world building/vivid setting you read this year?
This is kind of a weird answer, but Landline by Rainbow Rowell. Thinking back on that book, I can still vividly picture all of the scenes and I read it months ago.

Book that put a smile on your face/was the most FUN to read?
Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella. It was such a cute and fun story.

Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2015?
For some reason, Kiersten White’s story in My True Love Gave to Me made me cry. It wasn’t even that sad, it was just a really cute story. I don’t know.

Hidden gem of the year? 
The Lauren Holbrook series by Erynn Mangum were such fun reads.
WAIT I READ THOSE SOLELY OFF OF ONE RECOMMENDATION.
Okay guys, I don’t want to go back and change my answer because the laziness has gotten to that point. But that’s my answer for that other question, too.

Book that crushed your soul? 
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

Most unique book you read in 2015?
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.
Seriously y’all, have you added that book to your TBR yet?

Book that made you mad? 
Maximum Ride Forever by James Patterson, simply because it really shouldn’t exist. But it does and I read it and I loved it, so who am I to complain?

Your Blogging/Bookish Life

New favorite blog you discovered in 2015?
I started my blog in 2015, so every blog I discovered was new. Due to that fact, I’m given the right to cheat. EVERYONE. Seriously. You all are the bomb-diggity.

Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?
Winter by Marissa Meyer because it was also a discussion and I really want to start writing more posts like that.

Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?
Back in the early days of my blogging (circa July) I parodied the first chapter or so of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and made it about my dog. I also dressed up my dog for the occasion. It’s always going to be one of my favorite posts.
Also, my Thanksgiving book cover edits. Those were so fun to make.

Best event that you participated in? 
I didn’t really participate in any… but I’m hoping to change that in 2016! I’m kind of terrified to be a part of blog tours or author interviews because I’m worried that I completely misunderstand what they’re all about and I’m going to do them incorrectly.

Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?
I was terrified to ask publishers for ARCs because I’m still such a new blog and I was worried that they would completely reject me and then laugh about the tiny little blog that wants books while sipping coffee in some gold-plated conference room. However, publishers are actually really nice and I was added to three blogger lists this year which was amazing and completely unexpected.

Most popular post this year on your blog?
My predictions post for what will happen in The Crown by Kiera Cass. At least once a day someone who is searching trying to find out who is going to die in that book is directed to my (most likely) completely inaccurate ramblings. Sorry.

Post you wished got a little more love?
Maybe… this one?
It did get quite a bit of love for the amount of followers I had at the time. Honestly, any posts that were read by literally anyone is more love than I thought any of my writing would get when I was first starting out, so thank you.

Best bookish discovery? 
Book Outlet (although that was more late 2014… we’re counting it!). Although, whether or not this was a good discovery based on how much money it’s eaten up is debatable…

Did you complete any bookish challenges/goals you set for yourself this year?
I didn’t set any! But I am this year, so hopefully I’ll complete all of those.

Looking Ahead

What’s one book you didn’t get to in 2015 that will be your number one priority in 2016?
I don’t know if it’ll be my number one priority because I’m not really in the mood to pick it up right now, but THE THRONE OF GLASS SERIES AHHHHHHH. I just want to know what everyone’s always talking about and join the bandwagon and get all excited about the new releases… sigh.

Book you are most anticipating for 2016?
The Crown by Kiera Cass. I’m so ready.

2016 debut you’re most anticipating in 2016?
Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky. I just know that it’s going to be fantastic and hilarious and I’m. So. Excited.

Series ending/sequel you’re most anticipating in 2016?
See the aforementioned Kiera Cass book.

One thing you hope to accomplish in your blogging during 2016?
Higher quality posts all the time, and just to keep blogging. Hopefully I’ll make it to another end of the year survey!

A 2016 release you’ve already read and recommend to everyone?
None… but hopefully I’ll be reading some good ones soon!


If you actually read my answers to all of those crazy questions, thank you for your dedication! I’m not going to tag anyone to do this because I feel like there’s a big difference between tagging people to do a typical ten question tag and tagging someone to do a fifty question survey… that’s a lot of pressure. However, feel free to answer the questions yourself if you’re interested and link it below so I can be sure to see your answers.
I hope you all have a wonderful 2016. Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

7 thoughts on “End of the Year Book Survey!

  1. Ahh I get you on the Throne of Glass series. I read the first book last year but I don’t remember much, now that I have the whole series I want to read it but I’m not really in the mood for it. Everyone’s so excited about the fifth book and finding out the name. Then there’s me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved your answers, haha! Laughed hard when you actually remembered a book you had read due recos and didn’t go back to change it, haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

