December Wrap-Up of All the Things!

wrap-up-tbr-bookhaul

Happy Friday Eve, and New Year’s Eve! I cannot believe that 2015 is coming to an end, which seems to be what everyone is saying, but seriously. Last month I said that my November Wrap-Up of All the Things was going to be my last wrap-up post of 2015 because I was assuming that I was going to be a mess as usual and not get this post out until a couple days into 2016.
HAHA past Audrey. I actually have my stuff together. Kind of.
Let’s get into this!

blogging accomplishments

Today marks my sixth month of blogging, which is absolutely bonkers. Who actually thought I would make it this long? “Not I,” said the pig.*
This month marked the milestone of reaching 450 readers, which is 448 readers than I ever thought I’d have. Thank you all for reading my ramblings, I hope you’ve enjoyed them.
I also started doing “What’s Up Wednesdays” this month, which is literally the only new posts that I said I would start doing last month that I actually did (more on that later). I’m really, really enjoying making those posts, and I plan to continue on with them if you guys are liking them as well.
I continued to make my Match Made in Mondays posts this month, which is really fun. As of right now I’m going to continue doing that, but I don’t have anymore topics lined up, so I definitely need to remedy that beforehand (if you have any ideas, feel free to leave them below).

*In case you didn’t get that reference:
not i said the pig.jpg
You should probably read The Little Red Hen at your earliest convenience. It’s a fantastic piece of literature.

wrap-up

This month wasn’t too amazing of a reading month for me, but that’s okay. I feel like I could’ve read a lot more, but I started the month off a little rough trying to finish a book that I wasn’t really enjoying. Ah, well. Also, I still didn’t read Throne of Glass or Crown of Midnight. But is anyone really surprised by that? I read two graphic novels and four regular books this month.

The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang and Sonny Liew
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
Maximum Ride Forever by James Patterson
The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith
My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins (and lots of other people)
Instructions for the End of the World by Jamie Kain

I’m also about 200 pages into To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, which I’m reading for school. This morning I started reading Made You Up by Francesca Zappia and I’m about 20 pages into that, and at some point I’ll probably finish reading The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson, which I started this month and I’m about 100 pages into that. Can we round all of that up and pretend it counts as another book? No? Fine.

happy (haul)idays!

Welcome to another embarrassingly large book haul. You’ve got to understand that 1) my Black Friday BookOutlet books arrived to my house this month and 2) pretty much all I expressed interest in receiving for Christmas were books. So… let’s just get into this.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
The Rose Society by Marie Lu
Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith
Revenge, Ice Cream, and Other Things Best Served Cold by Katie Finn
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
Maximum Ride Forever by James Patterson
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Bad Magic by Pseudonymous Bosch
The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson
Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

BOOKS.

january tbr

In the ideal world, these are all the books I would read in January. But, you know. Finals.

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia (finishing)
The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson (continuing… this one’s going to take me a while)
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (I better finish this one in January or I’m going to be horribly behind in English class)
The Rose Society by Marie Lu
Bad Magic by Pseudonymous Bosch
This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling (I don’t know, I just really want to reread it)

You’ll notice that I didn’t include Throne of Glass this month because who am I kidding? I NEVER GET TO IT. 

future plans

So I’ve been this for, what, three months? But I’m actually doing these things this time. I’m going to plan it out better, and if they don’t happen during January, they are happening within the early months of 2016. I pinky swear. Those are legally binding.
First of all, I’m not really loving Feature Fridays anymore. Usually I don’t have ideas for them and then I just end up not posting on Fridays, which I hate doing. They might come back occasionally, but from now on (starting tomorrow if all goes well) I’m going to be doing tags every Friday, because I’ve been hardcore slacking on tags (like, I haven’t done one since September) and I really like doing them. So that’s one thing.
I don’t know if the middle grade Sundays are going to be very consistent right away, but I’m trying my best. I really want to start rereading the Harry Potter books, so that could be a thing that happened.
Baby Book Babble is a-go. It’s gonna happen. Eventually. I want to make sure that it’s really well put together, so it might take a while. But it’s going to happen.
There will be more giveaways in 2016, which will be fun. I’m starting to make my reviews a little longer, and I’m still kind of experimenting with that but I’m also going to try and include more quotes (once I stop reading graphic novels). Woot.
As always, I’m going to keep blogging! I hit a rough patch in December and if anything January will probably be a little worse because of my semester ending and finals and STRESS AHHHHHHHHHHHHH.
But we’ll see.

Thanks for reading! 🙂
bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

11 thoughts on “December Wrap-Up of All the Things!

  1. Oh my goodness that reference (with the pig and the red hen) just brought back so many memories! What a great haul, I hope you enjoy the books you read and accomplish your January TBR pile! Also, you should definitely read Throne of Glass as soon as you can because it is amazing! I just finished Queen of Shadows and wow. Wishing you a Happy New Year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Happy New Year to you too, and thank you for your nice comment! The Little Red Hen was one of my favorite books when I was younger, but I’ve found that when I randomly reference it most people have no idea what I’m talking about 🙂
      I’m hoping to get to the Throne of Glass series soon. I’ve read the first book, but I was so busy while reading it that it took me forever to get through which made me enjoy it less. By the time I got around to attempting to reading the second one I couldn’t remember anything, so I really want to start fresh. On the Goodreads “Year in Reading”, so many people had Queen of Shadows as the highest rated book they read (if that makes any sense) and it makes me want to get back into the series that much more. I’m glad you enjoyed it, hopefully I will be enjoying them soon as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! I completely understand where you’re coming from. There are times when I read a series and forget what happens in one of the books, and it always annoys me. But whenever you get the chance to read them, I hope you enjoy them! If you want someone to talk to about them, let me know 🙂

        Like

  2. P. Bosch (I can’t remember how to spell that) is a hilarious author!! Read Throne of Glass, you won’t be disappointed. High five! We’re both at 6 months of blogging!! Though you have 430 more followers then I do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • *high five* I love your blog! You deserve thousands of followers. 🙂
      He is hilarious, so I’m super excited to get into his new series! I loved his Secret Series so much that I knew I had to read his next books, even if they were intended for a younger audience. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A better wrap up then me, great reading! I think I am STILL on one book this month. Next month I will actually get up and do some reading… Loved the reference with the pig btw-fantastic book 🙂 I have not read Throne of Glass either so you’re not the only one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

