Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases of the First Half of 2016

top ten tuesday

Hello and happy Tuesday! I was all prepared to be writing a “What’s Up Wednesday” post today before realizing that it wasn’t actually Wednesday. I honestly have no sense of time or date when I’m  not in school, and it’s kind of concerning.
We are quickly approaching the end of 2015, and with that comes lots of posts about 2016. Fittingly, today’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) is…

Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases of 2016

We’ll see if I’m actually able to follow the directions this time.

1. Ththe love that split the worlde Love that Split the World by Emily Henry
Release Date:
January 26, 2016
If you want all of the reasoning behind why I picked this book as one of my most anticipated releases, you can read my full Waiting on Wednesday post here. Basically, it just sounds like the perfect combination of a gorgeous cover, romance, and magical realism. Yes, please.

2. The Crown by Kiera Cass the crown ew.jpg
Release Date: May 3, 2016
Unpopular opinion: I don’t hate this series. I actually love it with a large part of my heart and I’m so excited for this concluding novel, even if the cover is hideous. Yet again, if you want to hear my full excited thoughts and predictions for this book, I made another post about it a while back that you can read here.

the siren.jpg

3. The Siren by Kiera Cass
Release Date: January 26, 2016
Ah, yet another book by Kiera Cass featuring a girl in a dress and yet another book released on January 26 that’s likely to be an instant bestseller.
I’m not excited for this one so much as I’m intrigued by it. It’s a revamped version of the same story that she self-published in 2009. The storyline sounds pretty solid and she said in a promotional video that it kind of took place in the same world as The Selection, but not completely. Hopefully this new protagonist isn’t as aggravating as America.

4. Stars Above by Marissa Meyerstars above.jpg
Release Date: February 2, 2016
I know y’all were waiting for this one to show up. Honestly, I’m not usually the hugest fans of short story collection because normally they’re just reselling things that you used to be able to read online for free in order to make more money. Still, it’s the Lunar Chronicles. I can’t not read this. Also, it’s beautiful. Also, it apparently has an epilogue to Winter that has a wedding scene, and we all know I’m a sucker for epilogues.

5. Ththe girl from everywheree Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
Release Date: February 16, 2016
I’m honestly so excited for this book. It’s the author’s debut novel, and I definitely think it has the potential to be the next big thing, especially with such a gorgeous cover. It follows a girl whose father has a time-traveling ship and requires the map necessary to go back in time to save her mother’s life. The cost? Her mother died in childbirth, and saving her would likely bring our main character Nix’s death. LIKE WHAT? That sounds so fantastic.

every exquisite thing.jpg6. Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick
Release Date: May 10, 2016
I honestly know nothing about this book, but the cover is gorgeous and the advanced reviews have been fantastic. Matthew Quick is the bestselling author of Silver Linings Playbook and I’ve been meaning to pick up some of his work for the longest time. So why not pick up his newest one that has a beautiful cover?

7. Salt salt to the sea.jpgto the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Release Date: February 2, 2016
I’ve heard amazing things about Between Shades of Gray, so I’m super excited that Ruta Sepetys is writing yet another book that takes place in World War II. I’ll probably try and pick up her first book before reading this one because Ruta Sepetys said that one of the main characters in this book is the cousin of a character in her first book, so I’d just prefer to read them in publication order and feel like I’m getting the full effect. Still, I’m definitely excited that this book is going to be out there, and I look forward to getting to it at some point. (Also, the early reviews on Goodreads are fantastic. Like, 99% of people enjoyed it, fantastic).

8. Where Fwhere futures end.jpgutures End by Parker Peevyhouse
Release Date: February 9, 2016
This book sounds so weird and amazing. It is comprised of five intertwining novellas, featuring social media, sixth senses, and alternate universes. What? The synopsis on Goodreads doesn’t share too much, but I’m okay with that. It seems like the type of book that you’d just like to dive into, and I look forward to doing just that. And, again with the early reviews, 100% of people have enjoyed this book as of right now. Which I’d say is a pretty good percentage, am I right?

this savage song.jpg9. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
Release Date: June 7, 2016
I haven’t read anything by Victoria Schwab, but I’m hoping to change that really soon. This Savage Song is going to be the first book in a new series, and it sounds right up my alley. Monster hunting? Yes please. Also, the last line of the synopsis (A unique, fast-paced adventure that looks at the monsters we face every day—including the monster within.) suggests that this book might have a deeper message/metaphors, which I’m all for.

summer days10. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories by Stephanie Perkins and Other Various Authors
Release Date: June 14, 2016
I recently read My True Love Gave to Me and I absolutely loved reading the collection of themed short stories from so many talented authors. I’m thrilled that Stephanie Perkins is putting together another collection. It features twelve new authors who are super talented and I can’t wait to read from, like Veronica Roth, Jennifer E. Smith, Cassandra Clare, and many more. This has immediately earned a spot on my summer TBR.


So those are my top ten books that I’m going to be spending all of my money on in the first half of 2016. Were any of my book also on yours? Be sure to link me to your TTT post in the comments below if you made one this week, or just give me any of your other thoughts.
I hope you had a good day today (I know that this post came out later than it normally does)! Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases of the First Half of 2016

  1. Where Future Ends sounds so weird, but honestly you’ve made me so excited for it now. AND OMG MARISSA MEYERS. I’m excited. Obviously, who wouldn’t be? I love her short story collections. Lovely post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

