Match Made in Mondays: Must I Do Everything Myself?

match mondays

Happy Monday! I only have two more days left of school until Winter Break and I’m so happy. I’m sorry for not posting over the weekend; I’ve been feeling pretty sick so I was pretty much just sleeping the entire time.
If you don’t know what Match Made in Mondays is, you can read all about it here. Basically, each week I throw out a topic of a potential pairing. Participants then fill in the blanks to create what they believe to be a perfect match. It’ll make sense later, trust me.

Me Taking the Spot of THIS CHARACTER + THIS SCENE/MOMENT = A Match Made in Mondays

It turns out that this topic is actually a lot more difficult to fill in than I originally thought it would. There are so many situations that were horrible in the moment, but ended up being necessary in the long run. I decided to pick out a few moments from different series that probably would’ve prevented large issues from happening. I’ll start each section with the name of the book/series. You can assume that my changes after that title will contain spoilers, so do not read my little adjustments if you don’t want to be spoiled. You’ve been warned. (Honestly, I know from experience that eyes have a way of skimming words even when we don’t want them to so if you want to absolutely be sure that you don’t get spoiled for Harry Potter, Twilight, The Infernal Devices, Allegiant, and The Fault in Our Stars, I would just leave now. I hate saying that, but I hate spoiling people more)

Harry Potter: Wouldn’t it have been nice if Dumbledore had just killed Tom Riddle when he first met him on that fateful day in the orphanage? I mean, it would seem that killing a teenage boy before he did anything truly horrible is a little extreme, but considering what he goes on to do… Or maybe if Dumbledore had never offered him an education at Hogwarts, Tom Riddle never would’ve learned how to harness his magic?
Time turners, people. Why are these only relevant to the plot once? Why couldn’t Dumbledore have gone back to that moment where he could’ve stopped Voldemort? Why – after the battle at Hogwarts – didn’t someone just grab a time turner and make sure that all of our beloved characters that were killed aren’t? Just grab their arm and move them to a different place so that they can be out of danger? I know that messing with the past is dangerous, but I’m pretty sure that Fred Weasley is worth it.

Twilight: Bella, might I recommend that you don’t maintain eye contact with Edward for that long? Sure, lack of eye contact might not prevent your entire awkward, vampire relationship from happening, but that little staring contest is going to translate very awkwardly to film.

The Infernal Devices: Tessa, dear Tessa. Don’t go to London. Your darling brother that you’re going to meet is actually a complete jerk and though you’ll meet – and fall in love with – two great guys, they’re both going to die in what is arguably the most heart-wrenching epilogue of all time.

Allegiant: No, Tris. You can’t survive it.

The Fault in Our Stars: Hazel, don’t go to support group that day. I’m sure that your story will be a lot less heartbreaking if it’s just your day-to-day analysis of America’s Next Top Model.


That was my match-up for today! I’m sorry for there being so few posts and reviews this month. It’s been busy getting ready for the holidays and finals, but I’m really, really trying to get back on track.
I hope you’re having a wonderful and safe December. Be sure to let me know what you think of my pairings and if you have any pairings of your own (but be sure to warn for spoilers!)
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

4 thoughts on “Match Made in Mondays: Must I Do Everything Myself?

Leave a Reply

