What’s Up Wednesdays: 12/16/15

what's up wednesdays

Hello and happy Wednesday! I always feel like such a phony for saying stuff like that when I pre-write posts because it’s still Tuesday where I am. I guess it’s not that big of a deal though, because there’s less than an hour left before it officially is Wednesday.
I have to start writing these sooner. Whoops.
Also, I’m debating if it’s worth it to eat an orange right now (because I really want an orange) even if my toothpaste will make it taste mildly minty and I’ll have to re-brush my teeth after doing so.
Anyway, welcome to another What’s Up Wednesday where I tell you what’s going on in the book world even though I’m so out of the loop that I’m not even sure there is one. Let’s get started!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Trailer Drop!

If you didn’t already know, a new Harry Potter-related movie is being released in 2016; it’s going to be a story based on the book “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”!
Typically I don’t start following new information about movies until they’re closer to coming out (otherwise I make mistakes like getting excited for Finding Dory five years in advance) so when I saw this trailer, I was really surprised. I had no idea what it was going to be like, and I don’t know if anyone else had any idea what it was going to be like because I don’t know what information there was to know, but it looks FANTASTIC (beasts and where to find them).
Having read the little “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” textbook that was annotated by Harry, Ron and Hermione and written by J.K. Rowling in partnership with Comic Relief, I figured that this movie would be somewhat of a documentary relating the different types of “fantastic beasts”, like they do in the book. Either that or, at most, it would be a National Geography-type movie following wizards running through woods and setting up cameras.
However, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it seems that this movie is going to have an actual plot, featuring conflict, main characters and (hopefully) a resolution. The trailer certainly got me excited for this movie, so even though the release is still eleven months away, I’m allowing myself to freak out over every little detail they release from this point on.
Watch the trailer here.

Goodreads Update

I don’t know why I’m including this, because I’m sure that if you haven’t already noticed this yourself you’ll be noticing it very soon.
So in the past few years Goodreads has changed about as much as a Twinkie will if you leave it sitting out for nine years (that is to say, not at all). However, while Goodreads-ing to try and figure out when and if Suzanne Collins is writing more books (my research was inconclusive) I noticed that Goodreads looks noticeably different. Nothing drastic, of course, although I have yet to fully investigate. However, the font is cuter and the buttons are more rounded and somehow things seem to be loading a hundred times quicker, but that may just because it’s very late here and no one else is using the WiFi.
Personally, I love the update, but many users seem to find the new fonts distracting and more difficult to read.
You can explore Goodreads yourself here and while you’re there you might as well friend me here.
If you want to know all of the specifics and technicalities of the new update, you can read this article here. Then be sure to scroll down to the comments and read everyone’s enraged or unbelievably happy comments. They’re quite entertaining.

Hank Green’s Book

So if you’re a fan of the famous John Green, you’ll surely know about his equally wonderful half-brother and VlogBrothers partner Hank Green. Hank is hilarious and smart and very good at communicating a point, which would certainly qualify him to write a fantastic book.
And he has! Er… he is? A while ago on Tumblr and in a couple of his VlogBrothers videos, Hank has mentioned that he is writing a book. Since I was recently freaking out over said book on Goodreads, I figured it was newsworthy.
As of right now we don’t have a title or a synopsis or a release date, besides that its “Expected Publication” is 2016. Is it too soon to get excited? Probably. Do I care? Nah.
We do have a brief quote serving as a synopsis for now, which is enough to get me pumped for this release:

A Young Lady and her Robot Friend. (And power and corruption and dehumanization.)

Sure, it doesn’t say a lot. But you can’t try and tell me that you’re not just the slightest bit intrigued. Don’t lie.

Featured Release: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

this raging light

Did this cover grab your attention as much as it grabbed mine? This contemporary stand-alone from debut author Estelle Laure is being released next week on December 22. I absolutely love that the cover is beautiful, but also kind of messy. Maybe that’ll be a metaphor for some of the situations in the book? Here’s the synopsis for you, provided by copy and paste and Barnes and Noble:

Can the best thing happen at the worst time?

Her dad went crazy. Her mom left town. She has bills to pay and a little sister to look after. Now is not the time for level-headed seventeen-year-old Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

This book sounds like it’s full of crazy situations and in my experience, crazy situations lead to crazy good books.
Check out this week’s feature release:
Barnes and Noble          Amazon          Goodreads          IndieBound


That’s this week’s news! As always, let me know what you thought of everything I shared with you, and if there’s any crazy big news that I completely missed out on!
Have a wonderful Wednesday (alliteration, yay!) and thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

One thought on “What’s Up Wednesdays: 12/16/15

Leave a Reply

