Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree

top ten tuesday

Hello and happy Tuesday! I have a biology test and today’s the last work day for two huge projects I’m working on in school… but at least I’m getting it over with, right? Plus, I suppose I’m learning a lot. If you ever need any information about Michelangelo or Pope Leo X, I’m your girl.
Before we get into Top Ten Tuesday, I’d like to give a brief shoutout to whoever found my blog yesterday by searching, “Will America die in The Crown?” I wish I could tell you, pal. Also, it’s kind of crazy to me that people are directing to my writing now when searching things about one of my favorite series… *mind blown*.
Anyway, as usual, I’ll be cheating on today’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The original topic was “Top Ten Books I Read in 2015”. I’ve been dreading a topic like this. Honestly, I know I’m going to feel horrible about myself when everyone is doing “Top 15 of 2015” posts and stuff like that because those are honestly some of my favorite posts in the world, but I’m not organized enough to remember everything I’ve read in 2015 and I’m horrible at picking favorites. Maybe next year?
Instead, I’ve decided to skip ahead and do next week’s topic, which is, “Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year”. Let’s be real, it’s a little easier to do because I literally have my Christmas list sitting right next to me as we speak. Also, Santa’s a busy guy. I think he deserves more than just a few days’ notice about this list. 😉
I know what you’re thinking: Audrey, what will you do next week? (Or maybe you’re thinking, Audrey, why don’t you just make the list already?)
Well, don’t you worry – it’s a surprise! And by surprise, I mean that I only have a very vague idea what I’m doing. But it’s all good. I’ll figure something out.
As for your second question…:

Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Christmas Tree This Year

*Side note: This list is not exclusive. I could probably do at least a Top Fifty list, but it’s eleven o’clock on a school night as I’m pre-writing this, and I just don’t got time for dat. These are literally just the first ten books on my list that I definitely want to read soon that I think you guys would enjoy hearing about/have heard about, because I have to be #relatable, obviously*

#1: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Literally, everyone and their monster has read and loved this book (see what I did there?) From what I know about it – which is honestly not that much – it’s about a boy whose mother is sick(?) and one night a monster comes to him and they become friends(?) and it makes everyone cry and it’s probably incredibly beautiful and it’s illustrator by Jim Kay and he illustrated the new illustrated Harry Potter books and those books are fantastically beautiful so this book is going to be fantastically beautiful and I’m probably going to cry.
But not as hard as my English teacher if she ever reads that horrific sentence.

#2: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
I’ve wanted to read this book ever since I saw the cover… sorry not sorry. This book features an unreliable narrator trying to make her way through college and dealing with the fact that she’s falling in love and she doesn’t know if any of it’s real. I’m not talking about real like wanting to know if the guy really loves her, it’s real like wanting to know if the guy really exists. This book has gotten fantastic reviews and it sounds absolutely amazing. Plus, I’ve seen some super beautiful quotes from it on Goodreads that I totally want to be tweeting all the time but I won’t feel right about tweeting them until I’ve actually read the book.

#3: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
This book has gotten so much hype ever since it came out. It’s about a girl and a boy who meet on the ledge of a bell tower and they basically both talk each other out of committing suicide, from what I gather. I’ve read a lot of non-spoiler reviews (although I did get incredibly spoiled by one fantastic reviewer whose entire review was “Wow I can’t believe that HUGE GIGANTIC EARTH SHATTERING SPOILER at the end) and it seems like 90% of the world thinks that it’s fantastic and the other 10% hate it with every ounce of their being. All of the reviews were well backed-up and made sense, and everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but this sounds like a book that I would enjoy so I want to pick it up and see for myself. Also, it’s going to be made into a movie soon and I want to be on the bandwagon before it gets too overcrowded with new “fans” who say, “Ew, this book is nothing like the movie.”

#4: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
I haven’t read a graphic novel since fifth grade when I read Smile by Raini Telgemeier, which I absolutely adored. You’d think that because I had such a positive experience with graphic novels I would want to read them more, but I just haven’t gotten around to it. I think my issue is that I like to buy all the books I read, and graphic novels are so expensive. They also don’t usually last me very long as I tend to fly through them, so it’s harder for me to justify paying for them. Still, this graphic novel has gotten fantastic reviews from people I really respect, and I definitely want to pick it up soon.

#5: Bad Magic by Pseudonymous Bosch
So I know I’ve only mentioned this about a thousand times on my blog, but The Secret Series by Pseudonymous Bosch is among my top five favorites series of all time, easily. It, of course, has been a very long time since I read them, but the quirky narrative and fast-paced plot as stuck with me to this day. Bad Magic is the first book in his new series which came out last year, and though many people have said that it’s not nearly as good as his first, I still need to read it. The second book comes out in early February, and I don’t want to get too behind on this series.

#6: Maximum Ride: Forever by James Patterson
Throwback Tuesday to when I featured the Maximum Ride series in “Top Ten Series I Have Yet to Finish” and I said I was never going to read this book because I was so annoyed that he was writing another book. Look, I stand by my annoyed-ness. This series should have been over at least four books ago and considering how bad the last ending was, I don’t have high hopes for this one.
However, I still love this series so much. I’ve been reading and re-reading them for years… literally a decade by now. Knowing that there’s an entire book out there with more stories and these characters, I can’t just not read it. I can’t. But this is where I’m cutting you off, James. The minute this series that could’ve easily been three or four books becomes ten, I’m done. I sincerely hope the title of this book isn’t an indication of how long this series will last.

#7: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
I’m pretty sure that I’m the last Rainbow Rowell fan in the world to read Carry On, but I didn’t know if I wanted to pre-order it. The whole concept of having a fan-fiction written by a character in a different book kind of playing off a different book being made into its own book was really weird to me. I didn’t know if it would be done well, although I should know by now not to doubt Rainbow Rowell. Since then it has gotten such fantastic reviews that I know I need to pick it up as soon as possible.

#8, #9, #10: The Raven Cycle books 1-3 by Maggie Stiefvater
If you’re wondering what these books are about, I honestly couldn’t tell you. All I know is that they’ve gotten incredible reviews and they’re quirky and fantasy-y and they’ve been recommended to me a thousand times by various people. These books sound so fascinating and fun, and I really want to be caught up on the series before the last book comes out in Spring 2016. Also, can we talk about how beautiful these spines look on shelves? No?


You’ve reached the end of my list! I hope you enjoyed it 🙂
Be sure to let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them. If you haven’t read them, let me know if you’d like receiving them for Christmas as well! I’ll put in a good word with Santa for you.
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree

    • Same here! They always sound so intriguing and we hear about them so often that it’s hard to not want to pick them up ourselves. Still, some of my favorite books have beens one I picked up completely on a whim, so I’m going to try and start doing that more often as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great list! I also have A Monster Calls on my Christmas list (as well as book 2 of The Raven Cycle). I did a top 15 today and to do these posts I always go to my Read bookshelf on Goodreads, sort by date read and scroll through the books I read for the year to pull out my favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a good idea! I’ll be sure to check out your list 🙂 Unfortunately I didn’t really get in the habit of keeping my Goodreads up to date until about July this year, so I had a hard time remember if those books in the earlier months really were read in the earlier months 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 100% agree about A Monster Calls and All The Bright Places! I’m actually planning on buying A Monster Calls for myself this Christmas 😅 And you should absolutely start the Raven Cycle, it’s an excellent series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

