What’s Up Wednesday: 12/9/15

what's up wednesdaysWhat’s up? Happy Wednesday!
Is it weird for me to ask you ‘what’s up?’ at the beginning of a post that will include the answer to that question?
Welcome to the second week of What’s Up Wednesdays – a weekly feature that I am completely unqualified to make because I’m oblivious to about 99% of everything ever.
Today I will be enlightening you on what’s going on in the book world this fine week of December 6-12 (is that how I do it? I don’t even know) which, fun fact, is the last December 6-12 of 2015!
Who would’ve thunk it.

Marissa Meyer News! (Wow shocking wow so unexpected wow What’s Up Wednesday more like Marissa Meyer News Wednesdays am I right wow)

So unless I completely missed a Marissa Meyer tweet and this is completely old news (which is kind of likely), the synopsis for Heartless randomly dropped, which is super exciting because it sounds FANTASTIC.
If you don’t know, Marissa Meyer is the author of the recently concluded Lunar Chronicles. She has announced that she’s writing another stand-alone book (Heartless), which will be a Alice in Wonderland/Queen of Hearts retelling. Basically, she’s the reason why the first thing I purchased in my BookOutlet Black Friday order was Alice in Wonderland. Sorry not sorry – I’ve got to study up.
If you don’t want to go all the way to Goodreads to see the synopsis for yourself – no judgement here – here it is:

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

So, you can try and pretend that that doesn’t sound absolutely fantastic, but we both know that you’d be lying. Even if it was written by Marissa Meyer, I know that I would be pre-ordering this. Now that the synopsis is here and it’s being written by Marissa Meyer? I’m sold.
To be fair, I was sold even before we had the synopsis. Whatever.
Now, remember how I mentioned that this was going to be a stand-alone? Well, I’m not so sure anymore. It’s under the “stand-alone novels” category on Marissa Meyer’s official website, but Goodreads already has the covers of two more books with descriptions like, “Second installment of a trilogy about ‘super heroes and super villains'”.
Stand-alone or trilogy, I’m pumped and I know it’s going to be fantastic. Now all we need is a cover reveal… Heartless is tentatively set to be released in November 2016. I say tentatively because that’s what Goodreads says, but I’ve never seen the same release date on two different sources.

Details about Veronica Roth’s Next Book!

A long time ago, I mentioned that Veronica Roth should totally write more books and that I’m really excited about whatever she has next and that I’m sure it will be fantastic but how do you follow up Divergent… (I honestly don’t completely remember what I said but I know I said something and it was probably along those lines).
Well past me, how convenient that you would mention that! Five days ago, Veronica Roth wrote a Tumblr post talking about how next book plans, which you can read in full here.
It honestly sounds fantastic… like, potentially better than Divergent. I would highly recommend reading her post about it – it’s not that long – but if you don’t want to, it’s basically going to be a sci-fi fantasy novel with lots of politics and a dictator and a male protagonist who cares deeply about his brother’s safety and – problematically – the dictator’s sister…
I’m so excited. The only issue I have with all of this is the last line of the post.
“More information to come the closer we get to 2017”.
Look, I know that she’s going to want all of the movie excitement to die down before diving into something else and she most certainly isn’t in need of churning out more books to rake in more money, but 2017? Sigh.

Laini Taylor Announces Duology Featuring an Intriguing Premise and Pretty Titles

Is it weird that I’m excited for more Laini Taylor books even though I have yet to finish any of her previous ones? Her writing style is just so beautiful that I know that I’m going to be dying for more as soon as I’m caught up.
So back in May, Laini Taylor announced that she was going to be releasing a new book called The Muse of Nightmares. The premise was vague at that point but sounded very, very promising. The big news – which was literally announced yesterday – is that that book is no longer happening! At least… not right away.
The idea that was going to be included in that one book is now going to be a duology (which I’m super excited for, because how often do you see solid duologies? And I know Laini Taylor will deliver). The second book of that duology will be called The Muse of Nightmares, and the first will be called Strange the Dreamer, which releases in September of 2016!
Aren’t those titles absolutely beautiful? The premise sounds fantastic too, and you can read all about it in the announcement article here.

Featured Release: Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes

frozen tides

Next week, on December 15, Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes is going to be released! Frozen Tides is the fourth book in the highly acclaimed Falling Kingdoms series, which I’ve been meaning to pick up for forever but haven’t because I’m a mess.
However, if you are planning on picking up this book next week, I sincerely hope that it exceeds all of your wildest expectations like every good sequel should.


You’ve reached the end of this semi-credible semi-timely news source! Let me know if you are pumped about any of this news like I am, or if I missed out on some earth-shattering book news, in which case I expect you to get me fully informed and shatter my earth, thank you.
I hope you’re having a fantastic Wednesday and that the weekend comes quick.
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday: 12/9/15

  1. Heartless sounds so different than The Lunar Chronicles! Other than it being a retelling, there are so few similarities in the synopsis. Looking forward to reading something new from her! (And also looking forward to reading something not new, as I got Winter for my birthday and it’s going to be the next book I pick up!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

