Top Ten Tuesdays: Newbie Favorite Authors for 2015!

top ten tuesday

Hello and happy Tuesday! According to one of the many Christmas Countdown accounts I follow on Twitter, there are only three Tuesdays (including this one) until Christmas! That’s exciting.
So, hello (from the other sideeeee) and welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday. Or, as I prefer to call them, Audrey’s Top-Ten-kind-of-almost-responses-to-the-prompt-but-mostly-not.
At least you won’t need to worry about pulling a muscles, dear readers, because we’re going to be doing a lot of stretching in this post.
Today’s topic, as provided by the lovely people and The Broke and the Bookish is: Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time in 2015

Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For the First Time in 2015

1) Jenny Han: I feel like I was the last person on earth to read a Jenny Han book, but I finally did this year! I read both books in her TATBILB duology and I really enjoyed them, so I am definitely planning to pick up more of her cutesy stories in #summer2k16. (Fun Fact:I feel like such an awkward teenage using that hashtag but I didn’t confidently know if not hashtagging it would make it have to be written as “summer 2016” or “Summer 2016” or “the 2016 summer” so I just did it. I’m sorry.)

2) Amie Kaufman: When the These Broken Stars series was getting so much hype on BookTube I was this close (picture me holding two fingers really close together) to picking it up so many times. I never did however – still haven’t – but this year I picked up Illuminae which she co-authored and I absolutely loved it! Amie Kuafman definitely knows how to write books in space, so next time that I’m this close to picking one of her other books up my fingers will probably end up touching.

3) Jay Kristoff: So, if you didn’t already know, Jay Kristoff is part two of the writing duo for the book Illuminae. See, this is where the cheating starts a little bit. Though it was the same book, I’m counting the authors separately because I’m running out of ideas. Oh, and because they’re both fantastic and deserve their own recognition.
But seriously. Fantastic author. He tweeted me once. Jus’ saying.

4) Sophie Kinsella: This one isn’t really a stretch at all, so I’m going to real-life stretch in order to give myself a well-deserved pat on the back. I read Kinsella’s YA debut, Finding Audrey, this year and absolutely adored it. It was also the first book I’ve read by this author, but I definitely plan to pick up more of her books, which have also gotten rave reviews.

5) Cassandra Clare: This year, I finally picked up and finished a Cassandra Clare book! An entire series, in fact. Though I wouldn’t consider them my favorite books in the world, I did really enjoy reading Clare’s Infernal Devices trilogy a few months ago. I’m not sure yet when I’ll be ready to make the full commitment and dive into The Mortal Instruments, but we’re getting there. I’m more open to the idea now.

6) Harper Lee: Admittedly, I haven’t finished To Kill a Mockingbird yet. Admittedly, I haven’t even finished chapter five of To Kill a Mockingbird yet. However, I am really enjoying it and Harper Lee is an author that is new to me so… it counts. Also, I want to include Harper Lee in this list so that maybe I’ll seem slightly more well-read than I am.
(Although what really is “well-read”? And is it really so important to fit those standards? Find out the answers to all of these questions and more in an upcoming Thursday Thoughts!)
(I mean, maybe)
(See next week’s Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Thursday Thoughts Posts That Audrey Has Promised But Never Made)
(That’s not actually going to be next week’s Top Ten Tuesday)
(Maybe I should just stop talking about these non-existent posts until they’re actually made)
(Hmmmm…)

7) Erynn Mangum: Erynn Mangum is a YA Christian author that I’ve really enjoyed reading from this past summer! Though there were some flaws with her books, they were very fast-paced and funny, and I definitely plan to pick up another one of her series in the future.

8) Heather Demetrios: Heather Demetrios is the author of one of my favorite contemporaries of all time, Something Real. I read this book during Spring Break this year and I enjoyed it so much – I wish I had been blogging at that time so that I could rave about it to all of you. I’m certainly due for a re-read of that one soon. She also has a fantasy series that I might pick up, we’ll see. I haven’t really read much from any authors who write fantasy and contemporary, so that would be interesting.

9) Laini Taylor: So… this is also a cheater-y one. I started reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone in 2015 but then my life got super crazy (like, staying up until 4:00 a.m. every night? morning?) and I just stopped reading it because I had no time and I was forgetting what was going on. However, I really, really liked what I had read so far, enough to convince me that I definitely want to pick that series up again. It counts. Trust me.

10) Sarah J. Maas: This one is a complete, unapologetic stretch. While I did read my first Sarah J. Maas book this year, Throne of Glass, I honestly didn’t really like it and wouldn’t – based on that read – consider Maas a new favorite author. However, I am planning to reread ToG and continue on with the series very soon (this month?) because I hear it gets better. I guess I’m just hoping that if I include her on this list, it’ll motivate me to pick up more of her books? Whoops.

stretching

This gif does not only serve the purpose to reuse that stretching joke over and over again, but also to show off the fact that I figured out how to insert gifs into blog posts again. So… that’s fun.


I hope you’re having a fantastic Tuesday and that you enjoyed that post! Be sure to let me know your new favorite authors from 2015 and link me to any Top Ten Tuesday post you made today. Or, I mean, any post you made today, because why not? I’m sure it was amazing.
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

