November Wrap-Up of All the Things!

wrap-up-tbr-bookhaul

Happy December! Happy last wrap-up post of 2015!
It’s almost 2016. That’s mildly terrifying. I wonder if time has to go through all of those long security check lines when it flies…
I hope you had a fantastic day, and month, and just life in general (although I highly encourage that you continue to have a fantastic life).
Let’s get started!

blogging accomplishments

I would consider this a very successful month of blogging for me! Today marks my fifth month of blogging, which is nuts, and I also hit 400 followers this month! It’s kind of mind-boggling that 400 people care to read my rambling and bad puns, but I’m very, very grateful for all of you.
I’m also still doing my weekly meme, Match Made in Mondays, which is super fun.
Plus, a random but really exciting and unique experience for me, a publishing company emailed me and asked me if I would review a book for them. I honestly never thought that email exchanges between me and publishers would be anything but me begging for books and being politely but firmly turned down.

wrap-up

I kind of had a bad reading month. Not in comparison to my other reading months, but just compared to my expectations. Still, I did read some books, so who am I to complain? Here’s what I read:

Cinder by Marissa Meyer (re-read)
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (re-read)
Cress by Marissa Meyer (re-read)
Winter by Marissa Meyer
Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn
Petey by Ben Mikaelson

I also read about 50 pages of my current read, Instructions for the End of the World by Jamie Kain and a whole five pages of To Kill a Mockingbird. Woot.

book haul

I accidentally acquired a lot of books this month. I promise, I really, really didn’t try to. I was fortunate enough to receive a lot of ARCs this month from lovely publishers, and I got a couple as a surprise. I just consider myself lucky that my BookOutlet Black Friday purchases haven’t come in yet… I would feel embarrassed to include all of those.

So many wonderful books that I’m so excited to read! The sad thing is, I’m still pretty sure I’m forgetting some.
I acknowledge that I have a problem. I have moved on.

december tbr

I plan on reading a lot this month. We have a nice, long winter break from school and there are just so many things that I want to read. That being said, I have no idea what I’m going to read. Don’t get me wrong – it’s not like I have any shortage of materials (see above: book haul) but I’ll probably be getting some books for Christmas/buying books with Christmas money that I’ll want to read away and some of the books in my Black Friday order were in that order because I want to read them immediately.
I’m trying to plan my TBR based on the books that I have right now, though, because it’s easiest for me to get excited about reading them that way.
It makes sense in my head, so let’s just go with it.
Here is a (very rough) idea of what I’ll be reading this month.

  • (finishing) Instructions for the End of the World by Jamie Kain
  • My True Love Gave to Me by (kind of) Stephanie Perkins
  • Possibly one of the Harry Potter books? I don’t know. I’m kind of in the mood.
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
  • Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (I KNOW THESE HAVE BEEN ON MY TBR FOR THE LAST NINE HUNDRED YEARS LEAVE ME ALONE)
  • The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon (I love the cover of the next book but I’m not allowing myself to buy it until I read this one)
    (I mean, that’s not the only reason why I want to read this one)
    (I promise)
  • This Is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp (I’m hoping that the cheeriness of Christmas time will help to cancel out the effects of this likely terror-inducing book)
  • Autumn Brides by Various Authors (The fact that this title was seasonly inappropriate – because it was SUMMER – when I got it is an indication that I’ve left it unread for too long)

There’s a pretty good chance that I won’t stick to this at all. Sorry not sorry.

future plans

I have some things that I’m really, really excited for. I’ll try to give you a quick outline, and limit my use of caps lock. BUT I’M JUST SO EXCITED.

Plan #1) Fix this:

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 6.29.46 PM

Unlike our dear Margo Roth Speigelman, I am not a fan of random capitalization. It actually drives me crazy. However, I am a fan of my new theme, WHICH IS WHAT CAUSES THIS HEADING CATASTROPHE.
(I would like to take this time to point out that angry caps lock doesn’t count as random capitalization, as it serves a purpose)
Basically, in my old theme all of the headings defaulted to caps lock. There wasn’t anything you could do about it, so I would usually not pay any attention to what case (as in uppercase or lowercase… I didn’t know how else to phrase that) I typed headings in.
So now that I changed my theme, all of the caps lock changed to what it actually was.
And what was it, you might ask?
A complete mess.

Plan #2) No more Waiting on Wednesday: 

It’s a tragedy! I know. What am I going to do with that cute little header now?
Honestly, Wednesdays are my least favorite day of the week and these posts weren’t helping with that. Don’t get me wrong – I loved it at first. However, you’ll notice that I haven’t made one in almost a month, and there’s a reason for that. I love reading these posts and I love getting excited about books, but it was getting to the point that I was going to the “Coming Soon” tab on Barnes and Noble’s website to try and find a book to be excited about. Which kind of seems to defeat the purpose, if I’m forcing myself to get excited about a book.
I’m still going to be posting on Wednesdays! The new posts will probably be called something cheesy and alliterative like “What’s Up Wednesdays” or “Wednesday Wanderings” or “Wednesday-ing While Wandering With Worldly Watermelons, Wow!”
Probably not that last one.
I’ll pretty much just update you on what I’m reading, talk about books that are releasing that week, or any exciting cover reveals/author news.
It’s like Random Sundays with more structure! Woot woot.
Oooh, what about Woot Woot Wednesdays? (I promise I didn’t plan out the phrasing of this blog post to help me reach this idea. This is literally a stream of consciousness that I don’t have time to edit due to a startling amount of homework).
Woot Woot Wednesdays: Things to Get Excited About in the Book World.
That actually sounds really stupid. I don’t know… I won’t make a header for it yet. Then it won’t have to be official.

Plan #3) Actually doing Baby Blog Babble:

I came up with this idea last month and wouldn’t stop talking about how excited I was to do it, and then – true to fashion – I didn’t.
I’m doing it this month! I have actual stuff planned out… it’s all very organized and professional.
I mean, it’s all very organized and professional for something called Baby Babble.
If you weren’t here to hear about it last month, welcome! Basically I had this idea to talk about things that I have no authority to talk about considering I’m pretty new at this, which is kind of the point. Small, new blogs having an outlet to get tips and discuss with equally small blogs.
I think it’s going to be a good time. And if it’s not, at least it has a fun title.

Plan #4) Actually doing Middle Grade Reads every other Sunday: 

Yet another thing I thought of last month but didn’t follow through on. I mean, I did it once last Sunday when I reviewed Petey, but that was an accident, so I feel like it doesn’t count. Sigh.

Plan #5) Making higher quality, longer posts: 

While I didn’t meet my goal of blogging every single day this month, I am really proud of the posts I put out. I loved making the two predictions post I published and the recap, and I’d love to do more posts like that. I’m also planning to do some new things with my reviews, like having a bonus section that includes a song that reminds me of the book and a favorite quote and a “If You Liked _______ You’ll Like This”. Maybe a rating rubric so I’m not such a mess? I don’t know. I’m just going to go with it and see what happens.


You’ve reached the end of what is probably the longest wrap-up ever! Thanks for sticking around for this long, and I hope to see you next month!
I hope you had a fantastic month and that December will be even better.
Happy holidays (is it too soon to say that?) and thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

8 thoughts on “November Wrap-Up of All the Things!

  1. 5 months and 400 followers?! That’s something to be proud of! I’m at 4 months and 110-120 followers. You deserve every last one of those wonderful followers! I love the Woot Woot Wednesday’s title! It sounds funny to me 😀 Sounds like November was a great month and December will be even better 🙂

    Like

  2. I love middle grade, so I’ll be looking forward to that!

    I also mostly stopped doing Waiting on Wednesdays. I’m excited about upcoming books, but just wasn’t feeling I could feature one every single week that I was particularly excited about and wanted to tell others about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

