Feature Friday: Books That Made Me Think

feature friday

It’s Friday which means it’s Feature Friday which means that you get to see that I still haven’t made a new header for this post! Oops.
Good luck to anyone Black Friday shopping today. I never Black Friday shop beyond BookOutlet, but I’ve always wanted to. Be safe! Don’t punch anyone – that X-Box isn’t worth it.
So as yesterday was Thanksgiving for all of my fellow American readers, I thought I would kind of sort of tie this Feature Friday’s topic into Thanksgiving. And by kind of sort of, I mean that it’s kind of sort of a huge stretch, so bear with me. As you know, on Thanksgiving we like to consume lots and lots of food, but even with all of our eating we’ll still probably be eating turkey for the next month or so because of all the leftovers. Today on Feature Friday I’m going to featuring and telling you about the books that left me with lots of extra thoughts swirling around in my brain even after I filled myself with the entire story.
I told you it was a stretch.
So here are five books that left me thinking about them after I had finished reading them (in no particular order because I don’t know how to measure level of thought-ness).

Books That Made Me Think

an-abundance-of-katherines1) An Abundance of Katherines by John Green: Let’s be real – all John Green books make you think more than the average contemporary. However, the entire plot of this book blew my mind and frankly really, really confused me. I expected John Green to just write about a genius character who finds the formula to figure out if someone is your soulmate, not actually find that formula. This book had so many math problems and equations that it took me a while to get through this one, even though it was a relatively short. Also, the idea that an equation could be formed to calculate your compatibility with someone? I wonder what those angst-y teenagers who always complained that they would never use algebra would say to that.
Thoughts Represented in Jaden Smith Tweet form: If I Was X, Would You Tell Me Y?
Recommend for: People who like John Green, math (as if!), and/or people named Katherine.  

2) The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult: 41ax-rv8yil-_sy344_bo1204203200_Honestly, any Jodi Picoult book that I’ve ever read could’ve been on this list. Her entire niche is writing books about moral issues and making the reader pick a side and then having the resolution probably be the other side and then killing someone. Every time. Some people have an issue with that, but I don’t, because every time the books fascinate me and make me think more and more.
This book is about the Holocaust, and the problem posed is one of the most thought-provoking story lines I’ve ever read. If you want more of my thoughts, you can read my full review of this book here. Basically, it made my mind (and heart) explode, and I’m still thinking about it after reading it months ago.
Thoughts Represented in Jaden Smith Tweet form: Does Reading A Jodi Picoult Novel Make Me Cry, Or Does Crying Make Me Read A Jodi Picoult Novel
Recommend for: People with an interest in World War II, crying, and/or bakeries.

3) We Were Liars by E. Lockhart: wewereliars__140612011956-575x883Are you surprised that this book made my list? Like everyone, I don’t want to go too much into why this book blew my mind, but it’s definitely worth picking up. I finished reading this book at a sleepover with my friend who insists on knowing the end of books before reading them (insane, I know) and immediately after finishing it I ranted and cried about it at her for over an hour. I also wanted to reread it right away because I was suddenly questioning everything I had read and… GAH.
Thoughts Represented in Jaden Smith Tweet form: How Can Mirrors Be Real If Our Eyes Aren’t Real (unfortunately, that’s an actual thing that Jaden Smith decided to tweet)
Recommend for: People who have somehow managed not to read this yet

a1bcf-xhe4l4) Ready Player One by Ernest Cline: The entire idea of a video game being such a separate and real world that relationships and friendships can be formed over them kind of blew my mind. Like, someone played video games as there entire job? They lived their life inside a video game? The unraveling of the clues to solve the mystery within this book was also really, really well done. This was just a fantastic book overall… read it.
Thoughts Represented in Jaden Smith Tweet form: Is My Life Just God’s Video Game?
Recommend for: People who like video games, pop culture, and/or good books.

5) When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead:when_you_reach_me If you’ve ever read this book, you know exactly why it’s on this list. This book confused me and fascinated me and then made me explode… at least in the brain. It has elements of time-travel and like all time-traveling books it will make you question everything, including how time works. I read this in third grade. No one should be questioning how time works in third grade.
Thoughts Represented in Jaden Smith Tweet form: What If Our Feet Are Tiny Time Machines That Take Us To The Next Place?
Recommend for: People who liked A Wrinkle in Time, the gameshow network, and/or mysterious people sitting by mailboxes.


So that was my list for this Friday! I hope you had a fun and safe Thanksgiving if you celebrated.
Let me know if you read any of these books or if you plan to. Did they make you think as much as they did for me?
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

8 thoughts on “Feature Friday: Books That Made Me Think

  1. This was quite a selection! I never have read John Green, but I always wanted to start by this book and everyone seems to hate it, haha! Good to know that someone recommends it for something ❤ I liked your list and now I want to read Ready Player One, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

