Waiting on Wednesday: The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

waiting on wednesday

Hello and happy Wednesday! I hope that you’re having – at the very least – a tolerable day.
You may have noticed (although I don’t know why you would have) that I’ve started naming my WoW posts with the title of the book I’m featuring, instead of just the date. It has come to my attention that when I’m trying to link to a past WoW in a new post, the dates literally mean nothing when I’m looking for a blog post featuring a specific book. Also, if you’re old enough to be reading, I can assume that you are also typically aware of the date. Keeping that in mind, the name of the book that you’re actually going to be reading about might be more useful information when perusing blog posts.
I’m learning. Slowly, but I’m learning. I promise.

the smell of other people’s houses by bonnie-sue hitchcock

In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.
Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.
Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.
Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock was born and raised in Alaska. She worked many years fishing commercially with her family and as a reporter for Alaska Public Radio stations around the state. She was also the host and producer of “Independent Native News,” a daily newscast produced in Fairbanks, focusing on Alaska Natives, American Indians, and Canada’s First Nations. Her writing is inspired by her family’s four generations in Alaska.

Description: Standalone YA contemporary
Publishing Information: Set to be released February 23, 2016 by Random House Children’s Books
Pages: 240
Barnes and Noble          Goodreads          Amazon          IndieBound

I totally didn’t add this book to my TBR on Goodreads just because of the incredibly gorgeous cover and poetically beautiful title.

Okay, calm down Harry. Can you blame me? I mean, now that I’ve looked into it more and read the synopsis and read the positive, early reviews, I’m super excited about it for other reasons, but I’m not going to deny that it was totally the cover and title that first got me to notice this book. Like, The Smell of Other People’s Houses? Somehow in that simple little title, the author has already introduced something that can be relatable to everyone. Don’t try and pretend that you’ve never entered someone’s house for the first time and thought, “Wow, this place smells like ice cream served in a bowl that didn’t get all of the dish soap rinsed off of it in the dish washing process!”
(Smell interpretation may vary)
Now, let’s talk about that synopsis. I know from my vast YA reading experience that multiple POVs – especially intertwining POVs – can either go horribly wrong or amazingly right. However, all of the different story lines sound really interesting, and I can imagine that they’ll do a good job of keeping my attention. I mean, secrets? Danger? All mixed in with a semi-historical contemporary novel that “is for fans of Rainbow Rowell”? Yes please.

Also, did I mention how gorgeous the cover is?
Oh I did?
WELL IT’S STILL GORGEOUS.


So that’s the book that I’m anticipating this week! I still have a while to wait, but I’m so excited for it that I thought I would share it now.
If you are going to add this book to your TBR, be sure to let me know in the comments! Also link me to any Waiting on Wednesday post you made this week so that I can be sure not to miss it!

Don’t forget that you’re the cooliest, and thanks for reading! 🙂
bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

  1. Loved this! I also love potentially good books with pretty shiny covers and poetic titles, haha! Tell Harry to calm down .D ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

