Top Ten Tuesday: Debut Authors that Need to Write More Books

top ten tuesday

Happy Tuesday! Would you believe that we’re one day closer to the release of Winter and already 1/10 of the way through November? Life is crazy.
Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (as provided by The Broke and the Bookish) is “Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel”. But, since I’m rebellious and I can’t seem to ever follow the rules on these things, I’ve decided to include authors who have written a complete series but haven’t written anything since then and authors who need to return to a certain genre. Also, I’m tired, so I’ll probably only end up doing, like, five. Someone stop me, I’m out of control.
Without further ado, here are some authors that I think need a kick in da-butt so they will hurry up and have more than just their debut.
(Fun fact: Yes, I know that debut isn’t actually pronounced like duh-butt so that pun doesn’t really work)
(Additional fun fact: I didn’t always)

top ten (kinda) debut (kinda) authors who have me looking forward to their sophomore (kinda) novel(/series)

1. Jesse Andrews: If you’re wondering why the name Jesse Andrews sounds familiar, it’s probably because he’s becoming well-known pretty quickly as he is the author of Me, and Earl, and the Dying GirlNow, you’ll know if you read my review of this book (click the book title if you haven’t) that it wasn’t completely my cup of tea. However, I will certainly be picking up future books Andrews writes because I found his writing style incredibly entertaining and hilarious. If his next book has some better characters, I could totally see myself loving it.
2. J.K. Rowling: WAIT! I know what you’re thinking: “Oh my goodness, that Audrey and her determination to somehow work the Harry Potter series into everything. J.K. Rowling literally wrote seven Harry Potter books, not to mention the side books, her Robert Galbraith mystery series, and the Casual Vacancy.” I mean, you’re not wrong, but I really want to see a sophomore middle grade series from our ol’ pal Rowling. Look, I get that it would be pretty much impossible to top Harry Potter, but I just want strong middle grade friendships and adventure and banter… *sigh*

3. Marissa Meyer: Wow, two eye-roll-inducing authors in a row? Look, I understand that you’re not surprised by Meyer’s presence on this list… just try to appreciate the fact that I managed to limit myself from including her until #3. The Lunar Chronicles is her debut series and though I’m sure I’ll be completely devastated when it is completed, I cannot wait to see what she produces next. Don’t try to convince me that Heartless isn’t going to be the most amazing thing ever. It’s a Tuesday morning and I’m too tired to fight anyone.
4. Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff: So what, they’ve both published multiple novels before? Illuminae was their debut novel together, and I’m really anticipating the sequel, which would therefore qualify as their sophomore novel, right? I mean, it’s kind of a stretch.
Fine, it’s really a stretch.
LEAVE ME ALONE; I JUST REALLY LIKE ILLUMINAE, OKAY?

5. (Could it be? An actual answer that meets the criteria?) Sophie Kinsella (LOL, no):
Though she’s written a countless number of novels, Sophie Kinsella recently made her YA debut with Finding Audrey, which is easily one of my favorite books of the year. I’m quite confident that whatever she puts out in the young adult genre will be fantastic no matter what (although preferably it will be another book with a cute cover and quirky characters that comes out… yesterday).


So there you have it, folks! That was my Top “Ten” Tuesday for this week, or as I like to call it, “Top Five Reasons Why Audrey is a Flop”.
If you made a Top Ten Tuesday post, be sure to link it below so that I can have some examples of how it’s supposed to be done. Also be sure to let me know if we had any of the same answers (although I doubt we did since I was so rebellious with my answers).
Have a wonderful rest of your Tuesday!

Thanks for reading! 🙂
bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Debut Authors that Need to Write More Books

    • From what I know, Heartless is (as of right now) actually going to be a standalone, which is definitely new from Marissa Meyer! As much as I also don’t want the Lunar Chronicles to end anytime soon, Heartless is also a retelling (of the Queen of Hearts) so I know that Marissa Meyer won’t be straying too far from her old ways 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

