Failures in the Twitters (Random Sunday #2)

random sundays

As you know if you read my wrap-up or review, I finished Illuminae by Jay Kirstoff and Amie Kaufman two days ago (I mean, technically yesterday at 1:30 a.m., but no need to get so specific). I took to fangirling about it on Twitter and Goodreads – like one does – and Jay Kristoff ended up replying to one of my tweets which was kind of the coolest thing ever considering he has quickly become one of my favorite authors by being part of the Illuminae writing duo. Like, he even said he liked my review that I tweeted out and… GAH. And then Amie Kaufman started favoriting my tweets because she noticed them through Jay’s mentions of her, I’m guessing, and there were favorites and fangirling everywhere. And then… this happened.

Screen Shot 2015-11-01 at 1.09.29 PM

“I finished it in very early this morning”.
I FINISHED IT IN VERY EARLY THIS MORNING.
You’ll notice, dear reader, that that literally doesn’t even make sense. 
I have an excuse for it, obviously. Besides the obvious fact that I’m talking about how I got very little sleep in the tweet itself, I was originally trying to say “I finished it in the very early hours of this morning”, but due to Twitter’s character limit I had to do some revising.
But not proofreading, apparently.
Amie Kaufman favorited this horrifically worded tweet and Jay Kristoff replied to it, which means that both authors of this fantastic book now know that I’m completely incapable of speaking proper English. I’m so ashamed.
I mean, obviously they’re trying to thank all of their fans helping to get the word out, so they probably don’t remember this little mistake or even noticed it in the first place but…

Anyway, on a happier note, Illuminae is fantastic and you should totally read it, not to mention the fact that it’s so cheap to buy the beautiful hardcover on Amazon and Barnes and Noble right now… just saying. After you read it, feel free to tweet the incredible authors because they might reply (and that’s super cool) but please learn from my mistakes and proofread those fateful 140 characters. You’ll thank me later.

On another note…
I can’t believe it’s November already! Sad story though… I’ve been anticipating Winter so much for so long that even before the exact date of the release was known and I only knew that it would be coming out in November I decided to put a remind on my Google Calendar about it. However, because I only knew the month, I just put the event on “Winter Comes Out TODAY!” on November 1 to change when we knew more. Of course, me being me, I completely forget to change that, so I got a notification this morning telling me that Winter came out today and I flipped for some reason because I guess I believe my Google Calendar even if it defies all logic. Still, Winter comes out in less than ten days… I don’t even know what to do with myself anymore.


Hey guys! I didn’t have an intro to this post because I didn’t really know how to preface a post that started with self-deprecating rants and ended with awkward elevator dancing… I guess that’s why I call it Random Sunday.
I hope you all had a fun and safe Halloween if you chose to celebrate! I ate so much candy… I don’t want to talk about it.
For those of you who might be confused, thinking that this post just turned into a Storytime Saturday, you’re completely right! I’m thinking that Storytime is going to start being mainly fictional writing, whether that be stories of my own of things like my Hogwarts: A History Review. Thoughts?

Thanks for reading! 🙂
bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

(P.S.: The irony of this post is that there are probably at least a couple of typos that I missed while proofreading… feel free to point them out and remind me of my misery in the comments 😛 )

6 thoughts on “Failures in the Twitters (Random Sunday #2)

  1. This post was awesome! I loved reading every second because your story made me smile so much. I freak out about my typos on twitter all the time because, well, 140 characters. When I have a twitter fail I always find myself resist the compulsion to delete the evidence of my tomfoolery and fix it (because I’m a weirdo, obvs) but trust me I want to do it sooo bad! X-D
    That’s the coolest thing though when your fav author responds, its like little little heart shaped cupcakes are falling from the sky (okay, not really, but I get really excited about it.) C.L Denault, author of my new fav Gambit, responded to a fangirling convo I was having with another reviewer and she faved and responded. I freaked. I was off the wall ecstatic!
    And I just checked out Illuminae on Amazon as you suggested, OMG, you’ve saved my life. I’ve been wanting to read this one but didn’t want to get the digital edition because I heard the physical copy was worth it. You’re a book angel. Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I definitely considered deleting the tweet, but at that point Jay Kristoff had already favorited it and I didn’t want to also get rid of that. Congratulations on getting noticed by C.L. Denault!
      I really hope you enjoy Illuminae if you end up getting it! As you can tell, I loved it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

