October Wrap-Up of All the Things!

wrap up tbr bookhaul

Happy Halloween! The end of this month marks another month during which I have neglected to create a new header for this little feature. See, when I first made it in June I was thinking, “This looks so cute and summer-y!” And now whenever you guys see it it’s probably just reminding you of how miserably cold it is outside now (at least where I live). Sorry about that.

blogging accomplishments

I finally hosted that giveaway that I was talking about! (Or maybe I’m currently hosting it? It’s set to end today but I don’t know when… you can see for yourself if you can still quickly enter here). It was a really cool experience because normally I’m just the one entering giveaways, so it’s fun to know that I get to be the one to make someone’s day by saying that they won!
I also managed to keep Match Made in Mondays going. I honestly didn’t know how long that would last, but I stayed committed and we’re still going, six weeks strong!
We also passed 350 followers this month, which is bonkers. Thanks for sticking around to all of you, or thanks for joining us to the new followers. You’re all the best. 🙂
And, as with every new month, it’s now my four month blogaversary… that’s like, a third of a year! It’s pretty crazy to me, but it’s also super fun and exciting. Here’s to many months to come (*raises fruit punch because I’m super underage*).

wrap-up

This month was kind of a weird reading month for me. I started off really, really slow, but things picked up again towards the end of the month. Unfortunately, I barely even started my Lunar Chronicles re-read, so I definitely need to get on that in the beginning of November. However, I did manage to read six books off of my October TBR and one book that wasn’t included in my list. The books were:

Flashes by Tim O’Rourke
Teen Angst? Naaah… by Ned Vizinni
Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: Illustrated Edition by J.K. Rowling, Jim Kay
Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion
How to Be Brave by E. Katherine Kottaras
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Review to come, I just need to… recover a little more)

My favorite of the month was definitely the illustrated edition of Harry Potter. I’m also super proud of the review I made for that one because it’s really different from all of my other reviews I’ve made, so if you’re at all interested in that book than I would highly recommend checking out the review. 😉

 NOVEMBER TBR

I’m really hoping that November will be a great reading month for me. My school has a pretty long Thanksgiving break, so hopefully I’ll be able to get a lot of reading done then. There are also some big releases (well, mainly one) that I’ll probably fly through. However, if I don’t… please don’t make fun of my for my ambition.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Cress by Marissa Meyer
Winter by Marissa Meyer (I’m not sure yet if I’ll pick this one up yet. It seems really stupid and I’m not anticipating it at all.)
Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
How to Love by Katie Cotugno
Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson
The Martian by Andy Weir
Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy
Petey by Ben Mikaelsen
Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn

I don’t know, man. We’ll see what happens.

BOOK HAUL(LOWEEN)

On a book-buying ban? Who, me? Nahhhhh.
I completely broke my book-buying ban this month, but how could I not? So many fantastic books came out this month, and even though I limited myself to three new releases (why must they be so expensive?) I did acquire books in other places as well. I know I have a problem, but I have no desire to solve it. Let’s just talk about the books:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: Illustrated Edition by J.K. Rowling, Jim Kay
Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Lord of the Rings box set by J.R.R Tolkien
How to Be Brave by E. Katherine Kottaras

I LOVE BOOKS. Sorry ’bout it.

FUTURE PLANS

Big things are coming, people!
I mean, kind of. I’m planning to continue doing Match Made in Mondays through the rest of this month for the very least. I’m also hoping to post once a day this month (and I know I said that last month, and completely flopped, but still). Also…
I was thinking about adding two new feature-type things to my blog, but I need y’all to let me know if you like these ideas, because I obviously don’t want to be making them semi-regularly if you hate them.
First and foremost, I was thinking about a once-a-month feature called “Baby Blog Babble” or something like that where I share things that I’ve learned so far while book blogging about things like getting ARCs, hosting giveaways (because I have so much experience with that), contacting authors, etc. I know a lot of blogs do stuff like that, but I thought I could offer my own perspective and tips considering that I’m still a pretty small blog and you might not contact the same people or whatever when you only have a couple hundred followers vs. a couple thousand. Ya feel?
Also, at least every other Sunday I’m hoping to read a middle grade book and post a review. Middle grades are typically such quick reads, but I feel like I never know when to pick them up and if you guys would be interested in reading reviews about books targeted at a younger audience. However, I do really like reading quirky middle grades and since I can usually read them in a day or so, I’m hoping to read at least two a month and review them so that you’re getting more content than just reviews of your average YA stories.
Additionally, once I’m caught up on more of the ongoing series out there, I’ll be posting prediction posts for what I think will happen in future books, because those are super fun to make and, in my opinion, super fun to read. I’ll definitely have one coming for The Crown and hopefully Winter if I can get it out in time.

I hope you had a wonderfully month and will have an even better November!
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

6 thoughts on “October Wrap-Up of All the Things!

Leave a Reply

