SYNOPSIS RAGE (Storytime Saturday #5?)

storytime saturday

Look, another post that I haven’t made in so long that there’s an old header for it! At least the awkward tree kind of goes with fall. I’ll work on it.
(Ed Sheeran’s “I’m a Mess” starts playing in the background)
I hope you’re having a fantastic and relaxing weekend thus far. I’m hoping to finish off a least one book (but hopefully two) and have a review up for you guys soon! I feel like it’s been forever… Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult is incredibly interesting but pretty slow going (at least for me personally). But I’ll tell you all about that in the review.
Today I’m going to be telling a 100% true story about an experience I had in English class a few years ago. The English teacher I had is fantastic and she’s amazing at what she does. She always made sure to encourage her students to read and would often pitch books to my class to see if they would interest us.
Obviously because she’s a big reader herself she’s not going to want to spend all her time reading all of the popular YA books just so that she’d be able to recommend them to us. I can’t imagine having to read a bunch of adult books that I wasn’t necessarily interested in reading myself just so that I could recommend them to a bunch of teachers. The following stories are just to make you laugh, not to say that this teacher is a horrible person because… (well, you’ll see.) She’s fantastic and this post is for comedic purposes. End disclaimer, enjoy! 🙂

BOOK RAGE

Anyone who has followed my blog for a while knows that I like the Lunar Chronicles. Like, really like. I’m not going to get into too much because I’m 100% sure that even if you’ve only been following my blog for a week you’re sick of me raving about them in every single post. 
(But seriously you should read them if you haven’t).
Needless to say, I was incredibly excited when my teacher held up Cinder and said that she would be pitching the book to us. I almost wanted to offer to pitch it for her, but I figured I would end up just blabbering about Iko and spewing Captain Thorne quotes. I could only hope that her pitch was good enough to convince literally everyone in my English class to read the Lunar Chronicles, so that they could spew quotes back at me.
“This book is like Cinderella, but Cinderella is a cyborg. It’s kind of like Divergent – ”
” – in the way that it completely takes place on a futuristic, planet far, far away!”

As hard as it was to let this slide (i.e., not asking where China was in relation to Earth and the Sun) I knew I should let it go. After all, she was now recommending another book that I was a huge fan of:

Now, I can’t even give you a complete synopsis for this book because it’s the third book in a series (which probably should’ve been the first sign that something was off with her recommending this book).
Basically all you need to know about this series is that it stars six kids (Max, Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Angel, and Gazzy) who were taken from their family as babies and experimented on by a horrible company referred to as The School. They were mixed with avian genes and now all of a sudden they all have wings. Usually all of The School’s horrible experiments die after a few days, but not these kids. They are rescued from the school and now are constantly hunted as they are quite possibly the only people capable of overthrowing the school for once and for all.
They’re super easy and quick reads, so I wasn’t surprised that my English teacher might try to convince my class to pick up this series. Maybe she decided to recommend the third book because it has the coolest title?
“This next book is about a group of people – ”
They prefer the term avian-American, but whatever.
“who travel the world performing extreme sports – ”
Also flying. Flying is a large part of the plot.
” – to raise money for charity and thus helping to save the world.”

I didn’t know what to do. Like I said before, this is a teacher I really respect, but the synopsis she gave was so obviously not for the book she was holding up. I’m guessing that she thought the book was a different book that was about people who went around the world raising money for charity, or maybe she had put that book in her pile of recommendations by accident and now was scrambling to come up with a plausible synopsis. The issue is, the book she was holding up had more to do with a rambunctious talking dog named Total than it did charity. What hurt me the most as a lover of that book was that I actually saw people writing down the title of that book because it sounded interesting to them.
Obviously the fact that my teacher didn’t give spot-on synopses for these books isn’t the end of the world, but I thought I would share these little stories with you guys, who can probably relate to hearing someone completely misjudge or talk about a book that you love so much. Kind of like the first time someone made fun of you for reading Harry Potter because “it’s just a bunch of weird kids waving sticks”.


Ahh, it’s been so long since I made one of those posts! I really have to work on making them more regular.
Have you had any experiences with a person completely describing a book incorrectly to you? I’ve had some other experiences like this at bookstores, but these two stories are most memorable to me because they were both descriptions of books that I love so much. The one with Cinder is a little specific, obviously. I can see why if it had been a while since you read the book that you might forget that all of the crazy adventures in those books actually are happening on Earth. I still wanted to share it though, because no one messes with The Lunar Chronicles.
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

4 thoughts on “SYNOPSIS RAGE (Storytime Saturday #5?)

    • Thank you! I’m sorry you didn’t like the Lunar Chronicles 😦 My sister didn’t enjoy them very much either. It seems like you either absolutely love them or they’re completely not your thing. It’s okay, to each their own. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

