Feature Friday: Books That Made Me Cry!

feature friday

Hey guys! I haven’t made a Feature Friday post in so long (as proven by the fact that I haven’t even made a fancy new header for it yet). They’re super fun posts to make so I honestly couldn’t tell you why I’ve been slacking lately… so that’s going to stop now (knock on wood).
I thought a fun topic for today would be talking about books that made me cry. I loved Christine’s (PolandBananasBOOKS on YouTube) video about this topic, called “Cry Me a Book River“. I’m not a huge book crier so I know that if a book makes me cry it’s definitely a good one! Let’s get started.

books that made me cry

Book #1: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Level of Cry-itude: Low – “Nah, man, I just got something in my eye.”
This book actually didn’t make me cry the first two times I read it, or when I saw the movie. Usually when I cry in a book it’s because something unexpectedly sad happens and I don’t have time to prepare my emotions. Yes, something sad was unexpectedly revealed, but once it was it was pretty obvious what was going to happen. However, the third time I read the book I did shed a tear or two. I couldn’t tell you what was different the third time around. I’m guessing my brain was like, “Oh, you’re sitting in English class surrounded by all of your classmates this time? Time to make you look like an idiot.”
Recommend for: People who like those weird laughing but crying snorts. This book causes a lot of those.

Book #2: Allegiant by Veronica Roth
Level of Cry-itude: Medium – “I’m not crying, I’m sweating through my eyes.”
This book didn’t make me cry as much as I potentially could’ve because I had been spoiled. Veronica Roth had just posted a picture of Allegiant on her Instagram and the first three comments were, “OMG, HOW COULD YOU KILL !@#%#@!#@!$@#!@!.” (I replaced the name with random characters. No character literally named !@#%#@!#@!$@#!@! dies in that book. !@#%#@!#@!$@#!@! was perfectly safe the entire time.) I wouldn’t consider this series one of my favorites, but the way that this death happened was so upsetting to me. The fact that we knew about the death while other characters didn’t and were still thinking about that person and what they were going to say to that person when they saw them again… it hit me right in the feels.
Recommend for: People who have read the first two books and somehow haven’t been spoiled for this one yet (no one?). I mean, it’s a pretty good book, but that’s an impossible scenario.

Book #3: Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult
Level of Cry-itude: High – “I’m not crying, I’m demonstrating how a leaky faucet works with my eyes.”
Now, even the fact that this book made me cry could kind of be considered a mild spoiler so I’m not going to get too much into the why or when. However, I will tell you that I was reading the part that made me cry while I was brushing my teeth. My mom (the one who had recommended this book to me) had told me to go to bed and stop reading. Being the sneaky child that I am, I proceeded to continue reading whilst brushing my teeth. And then… the thing happened. I literally stood in the bathroom, toothpaste and tears running all down my face. I distinctly remember running out into the livingroom, toothbrush brandished like a weapon yelling things like, “You knew! You knew the whole time and you still told me to read it!”. Fun times.
Recommend for: People who have padded walls that won’t be damaged when you throw a book at them.

Book #4: A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron
Level of Cry-itude: Embarrassing – “I’m not crying, I’m just helping my mascara achieve its dreams of reaching my chin.”
Before you start yelling at me for spoiling you on this book, you should know that the entire premise of this book is that the dog dies over and over again and keeps being reborn until he can find his purpose. Me saying THE DOG DIES isn’t a spoiler.
That being said, I cried every single time the dog dies. Literally, the book was told from the dog’s perspective and he would die one hundred pages into the book. Like, you know that the dog isn’t actually dead and he’s going to be coming back to life on the next page again, but I couldn’t handle it. I completely lost it every single time. Don’t even get me started on the ending. Don’t even get me started on the sequel (because one book of dead dogs wasn’t enough). Don’t even get me started. Oh my Lord.
Recommend for: Sick people who enjoy reading about dogs dying over and over again (and everyone else because I love this book and the sequel so much).

Book #5: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
Level of Cry-itude: Torrential Downpour – “I’m not crying I’m refilling the Pacific Ocean with my eyes.”
It should come to no surprise to anyone that this book is on this list. I actually cried in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix as well, but not nearly at this level. I cried so much at so many points during this book.
I cried during that one death.
I cried during that other death.
I cried during that other death.
Also that death.
Especially that death.
And then I cried because it was over.
And then I cried because my mom walked into the room right when I finished the book and told me that my friend’s cat had just been hit by a semi. (I’m going to count that because I was still holding the book.)
I was such an emotional wreck after finishing this book, and I’m sure that I wasn’t the only one. I honestly start crying if I think about it for too long, so we’ll stop here.
Recommend for: It’s Harry Potter. If you haven’t read this yet then I don’t think my recommendation will help fill the hole in your heart.


The end! That’s my Feature Friday for today. I tried out a slightly different format, and I like it a lot better than my old method of changing what I’m doing every single time. I think from now on I’ll mostly be picking a topic, like funny books, stand-alone books, etc. and then making a list of my favorites and who I would recommend them for like in this post. What do you think?
Did any of these books make you cry? Are there any books that you would recommend that caused you to shed a few (or more than a few) tears?
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

20 thoughts on “Feature Friday: Books That Made Me Cry!

  1. Great post! HP and the Deathly Hallows was sad but I also think that The Order of the Phoenix was pretty sad too. TFIOS, was sooooo sad. I mean we all knew it was going to be sad but part of us hoped it wasn’t true. Cancer doesn’t always = death right? Right?! Thats what I thought reading TFIOS.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Order of the Phoenix made me incredibly sad but not quite as sad as Deathly Hallows. I think all of the deaths in DH combined with the fact that it was over made it the saddest thing I ever had (or will) read.
      I definitely hoped that TFIOS wouldn’t have a sad ending (I actually read it before it was super hyped so I had no reason to believe that it had a sad ending). I feel like a lot of books nowadays are lacking happily ever afters!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I started making a list of books on Goodreads that make me cry because the list is starting to grow long enough for me to not be able to keep track of it. (For the longest time, there was just one book.) I’m looking forward to Handle with Care now! TBR’d.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

