Thursday Thoughts: I’m a Goodreads Flop!

watercolor rainbow

What? Audrey’s actually making a Thursday Thoughts for two weeks in a row? Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy? Caught in a landslide, no escape from reality. Open your eyes, look up to the skies and see: I’m just a poor boy, I need no sympathy because I’m easy come, easy go, little high, little low. Anyway the wind blows, doesn’t really matter to meeeee.
Ahem. Sorry about that.
MAMA, JUST KILLED A MAANNN
But seriously I’m done now.
PUT A GUN AGAINST HIS HEAD. 
Can you tell that I have no idea how to end this intro so I’m trying to lessen the awkwardness with Bohemian Rhapsody? Because that’s what’s happening.
PULLED THE TRIGGER NOW HE’S DEAD

I’M A GOODREADS FLOP

Since you’re reading this I’m going to assume that you’re either a book blogger yourself or someone who is interested in/knows a lot about the book blogging community. Because of that, I’m sure you’re familiar with the website Goodreads. If you’re not, it’s basically a social media platform for book nerds where you can post book reviews, updates on books your reading, follow authors, shelve books, enter giveaways, take quizzes, polls, and much more. And if you call now, you can get all of that – plus free shipping – for just four easy payments of $9.99.
That’s going to be the last stupid joke of this post.
Maybe.
Anyway, Goodreads is free and fun and I would highly recommend creating an account if you love books as much as I do. However, maybe I’m not qualified to be recommending this website to you because I completely fail at using it.
I started a new Goodreads account when I made my blog. I figured I would re-shelve all of the books in my library onto my “Owned” shelf because it had been way too long since I updated my old one. I was going to have TBR shelves for every genre, sort all of my reviews into shelves by rating, when books are released, etc. I would update my “Currently Reading” books after every time I read from them and my reviews would be posted right away, linking back to the original post on my blog.
If any of my 117 Goodreads friends are reading this right now they’re probably laughing hysterically at my failure.
I mean, I did re-shelve all of my books, but that was back in June and I haven’t updated it since, though I have obtained a ton of new books. I also never created all of those other shelfs: I only have two, “Owned” and “Favorites”. The “Favorites” shelf has eight books. Seven of them are Harry Potter.
I do post all of my reviews on Goodreads within a day or two of finishing them but half of the time I forget to link it to my blog. Sometimes I’ll also forget to edit parts of the review to fit Goodreads so it’ll say something like, “You’ll already know that if you read my last Waiting on Wednesday” and I’m sure all the random Goodreads users are now wondering why I post Waiting on Wednesdays on Goodreads.
Don’t get me wrong, I know that you don’t have to have a million shelves on Goodreads to be a good Goodreads-er and it’s really just meant for keeping you organized however you most prefer it. It’s not that I won’t feel accomplished until I actively use every feature on Goodreads, but I did completely neglect the goals that I set at the beginning of my Goodreads account.
Thinking about it, though, some of the Goodreads features seem a little pointless. I mean, for every book you put on your “Owned” shelf you can specify the condition of the book for “Poor” to “Like New”. You can also say where and when you purchased the book and if you traded for it. Are some people actually that organized? Because, if so, you are Goodreads goals. Keep it up.
I love updating my reading progress, however. It’s fun to go back – especially when rereading – and see what your thoughts were at a specific part of a book. I always appreciate the news of giveaways, and I think it’s so much fun to read reviews from the people I follow. On Goodreads you can search for any book and if one of your friends has reviewed it their review will be right at the top and easy to find. It’s so nice to have such easy access to opinions that I trust and enjoy reading.
Maybe writing this post will help motivate me to start being more organized on Goodreads, but probably not. Sometimes I go on frenzies and convince myself that all of a sudden I’m going to be flawlessly organized with no book out of place, but that only usually lasts a day or two.


So those are all my ramble-y thoughts on Goodreads and my general failings on that wonderful little website. While it definitely could use a few updates to make it easier to use, I enjoy it in general and would highly recommend it!
I’d love to hear what you think of Goodreads in the comments. I know that a couple years ago a lot of people were upset that they changed their policy about what was too harsh in a review. I don’t know too much about that, but if you would like to rant about that upsetting change and educate me, go for it!
If somehow me telling you how bad I am at using this website won you over, feel free to click that button with the “G” on it below and add me as a friend! Also don’t hesitate to follow me on Instagram, Twitter, and Bloglovin’ because it’s been a while since I did a shameless self-promotion.
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

8 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: I’m a Goodreads Flop!

  1. Personally I kind of feel Goodreads is as simple as you make it. I just stuck with the 3 shelves given at the start and didn’t add any more. I’m also not part of any groups etc, in fact I only go on Goodreads to update my shelves every now and then and when looking up a book after reading about it on a blog. I do like it, I just don’t get too bogged down with it. ✨

    But on the other hand, give me something visual like Pinterest or Instagram and it’s a whole different ball game. Where aesthetics are concerned, I can get very bogged down !!! ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s true. When I first started out I guess I convinced myself that I was going to be one of those super organized users who placed every book they reviewed on, like, nine different shelves. I’m glad you’ve figured out how you like to use it!
      Don’t even get me started on Instagram! I try to make my feed look professional and it just never works out. Oh well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

