Waiting on Wednesday – October 7, 2015

waiting on wednesday

Since school has started I’ve begun to realize how much I dislike Wednesdays… it seems like every other day of the week has some sort of good to it except for Wednesday. If it’s Monday, at least you’re getting Monday over with. If it’s Tuesday, you can be happy that you got through Monday. Thursday is Friday Eve, and Friday is Friday. What’s Wednesday? Friday Eve Eve? I mean, yeah, you’re halfway through the work week, but what’s that telling you? Hey, you’ve come so far to reach the halfway point! Now you have to do it all again before you actually reach the end.
Sooo anyway, sorry for that rant-y beginning. I guess I can’t really help it considering that it’s practically time for a “Thursday Thoughts” post by now. I meant to make this last night and then post it this morning, but I got wrapped up in starting my latest read, Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult. If you’ve read my review for The Storyteller you know exactly how I feel about her books so it was pretty hard to stop.
Enough blabbering. Today (tonight) I’m going to be sharing with you a book that I’m really anticipating the release of as part of the weekly meme “Waiting on Wednesday” hosted by Breaking the Spine. Here we go:

kill the boy band by goldy moldavsky

From debut author Goldy Moldavsky, the story of four superfan friends whose devotion to their favorite boy band has darkly comical and murderous results.
Okay, so just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near The Ruperts, our favorite boy band.
We didn’t mean to kidnap one of the guys. It kind of, sort of happened that way. But now he’s tied up in our hotel room. And the worst part of all, it’s Rupert P. All four members of The Ruperts might have the same first name, but they couldn’t be more different. And Rupert P. is the biggest flop out of the whole group.
We didn’t mean to hold hostage a member of The Ruperts, I swear. At least, I didn’t. We are fans. Okay, superfans who spend all of our free time tweeting about the boys and updating our fan tumblrs. But so what, that’s what you do when you love a group so much it hurts.
How did it get this far? Who knows. I mean midterms are coming up. I really do not have time to go to hell.

Release: February 23, 2016 by Scholastic, Inc.
Details: Stand-alone(?) YA contemporary
Pages: 320
Barnes and Noble          Amazon          Goodreads          IndieBound

Oh my goodness, this book. I first heard about it a couple months ago when all of the Booktubers were coming home with their BEA book hauls. Obviously after BEA all Booktubers and bloggers have a huge amount of books with them, because why wouldn’t you want to bring a ton of free books home? Because they have so many books and they don’t want to make their book haul hours long, they usually fly through the books pretty quickly, which can make it hard for books to stand out.
Not this one.
Immediately when I heard the synopsis of this book I knew that it was a book that I needed to read. I was devastated when I heard how long I was going to have to wait to get my hands on a copy now that I knew about it (and now you have to wait too!).
What’s not to love about a book like this? The early reviews are fantastic, it’s the author’s debut novel, the premise sounds hysterical, and it’s told from the perspective of fangirls. Just imagine that – we’re used to the 140 character bursts of excitement from fellow fangirls… this is an entire book.
Not only that, but the entire idea of “accidentally kidnapping someone” sounds like it’s going to make for one heck of a book. I have no idea what will go down in this story, but I can’t wait to find out.
(Plus, the title really intrigues me. Like, the synopsis talks about kidnapping, but the the name of the book escalates it to killing… what’s going on there?)

waiting on wednesday

Wait a second… I know what you’re thinking. Why is there another Waiting on Wednesday banner all of a sudden? Is Audrey a forgetful mess who doesn’t realize that she already used this poorly made heading at the beginning of the post? (I mean, you’re right on the first part…) Is she trying to be artsy? (Look at my Instagram feed. I’ve given up) Is she making a rant-y part two to this Waiting on Wednesday as if she hasn’t already ranted enough in this post? (Wow, what a surprisingly accurate prediction)

HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER’S STONE: THE ILLUSTRATED EDITION BY J.K. ROWLING

For the first time, J. K. Rowling’s beloved Harry Potter books will be presented in lavishly illustrated full-color editions. Kate Greenaway-award winning artist Jim Kay has created over 100 stunning illustrations, making this deluxe format a perfect gift as much for a child being introduced to the series, as for the dedicated fan. Book one, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, is publishing on October 6, 2015.
 Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.
 All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.
 But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

Now, I know what you’re thinking: But Audrey, it says in the synopsis, “publishing on October 6, 2015. Why are you still waiting? I mean, maybe you’re thinking, Wait, you expected me to actually read the synopsis for Harry Potter? You think I don’t know what it’s about? But for the sake of this post we’re going to pretend you were thinking the first one.
Great question, dear reader! I was wondering the same thing. You see, I pre-ordered this wonderful book and it’s not here. It’s almost two days later! And I know that this is a complete first world problem, and I would like to take this time to note that this isn’t the end of the world and you don’t need to pity me because I’ll get it eventually…
But it hasn’t even shipped! What’s the point of pre-ordering if I’m not getting the book until a week or two after the release date? I mean, I know little to nothing about how shipping and online shopping works unless it’s on BookOutlet, so this issue is probably something that I caused with my own wrong option selections in the check-out or something. Or something. Or Amazon’s entire purpose is to make my life significantly less happy (but not miserable because, again, it’s not the end of the world).
Sigh. 


So that was a rant-y and weird and fun Waiting on Wednesday! It’s almost not even Wednesday at this point where I live, but I was determined to make a post because I love posting and hearing from you guys. In the comments, feel free to let me know if you’re anticipating Kill the Boy Band or if you’re happily enjoying your illustrated edition of Harry Potter which hopefully arrived on time. Also feel free to let me know if it’s already Thursday in your country or state or wherever you are and yell at me for not posting this sooner. 😉
I hope you have a wonderful rest of your Friday Eve Eve or Friday Eve depending where you are!
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday – October 7, 2015

Leave a Reply

