The Selection #5 (The Heir #2?) EXCITEMENT

Hey friends! So this is a pretty random post. Normally I would be doing Top Ten Tuesday today, but the topic was giving me a hard time… I could only think of two answers! Like with everything, I just went on Twitter to scroll away my problems and what should I see but THIS:
(Okay if I’m being honest all of this happened yesterday because I was trying to pre-write my blog post for today… well, actually this is being pre-written, too. But let’s not overthink things. Anyway…)
And what should I see but THIS (take two):

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 9.43.05 PM

If you can’t tell, this is a tweet from @EpicReads regarding the fifth book in The Selection Series by Kiera Cass, or the second book in the companion duology to the Selection Series (whichever way you like to think of it). I know a lot of people find this series really annoying and are frustrated by the fact that there’s even going to be a fifth book, but personally I love this series and I’m super pumped for this book, so please don’t roll your eyes at my excitement.
(I mean, if you really want to, you do you, just don’t go around leaving *eye roll* in the comments, because that’s just plain hurtful)
(Not that I think you would do that, I’m sure you’re all very nice people)
Anyway, words can’t describe my excitement when I saw this tweet because there hasn’t been news about the next book in the series for such a long time (at least that I’d seen… and if there was other news why didn’t you tell me about it?!). The fact that the “News” section of Kiera Cass’s website hadn’t been updated since August 20 was really making me worried, and I was beginning to wonder if there ever was going to be a fifth book, especially since we don’t even have a release date or a title/cover yet.
(Side Note: This would’ve been incredibly frustrating because months ago when I first started my blog I made a super long predictions post about what I think will happen in the fifth book that I would post once we had a release date and a cover. Literally, the first few lines of the post are me yelling in all caps about how I’m so excited about the book coming out and then a space that says (analyze cover here). I’m such a phony, I know)
(Additional Side Note: I just realized how many parenthesis I’ve been using. Man, that must get annoying)
So the gist of the tweet is that one of the objects that is oh-so artsy-ly placed in that picture is going to be the title of the book. The question is, Which one?
I think we can at least determine that the title with start with “The”. Considering the first four books in the series all start with “The”, I will be extremely enraged if this book is different – it would just seem wrong. (Extremely enraged to the point of not reading the book? Never. To the point of making a rant-y blog post about it? Potentially)
There are less than ten objects in the picture, so you would think you’d have more than a 10% chance of guessing the title correctly, right? But when you think about it, there are so many different ways that these objects could be referred to as. I came up with this complete list:

  1. The Heart(s)
  2. The Candy/ies
  3. The Candy Heart(s)
  4. The Bow
  5. The Bow Tie
  6. The Flowers
  7. The Lillies
  8. The Calla Lillies
  9. The Crown
  10. The Tiara
  11. The Ring
  12. The Ring Pop
  13. The Lace-y Paper
  14. The Fancy Envelope
  15. The Invitation
  16. The Book (I’m including The Heir as one of the items – who knows? It would definitely be unexpected, and honestly hilarious if Kiera named her new book “The Book”)

Of course, if we rule out the options that I consider too weirdly specific or seemingly unsuitable for a book title we’re left with my top guesses:

  1. The Heart(s)
  2. The Candy/ies
  3. The Candy Heart(s)
  4. The Bow
  5. The Bow Tie
  6. The Flowers
  7. The Lillies
  8. The Calla Lillies
  9. The Crown
  10. The Tiara
  11. The Ring
  12. The Ring Pop
  13. The Lace-y Paper
  14. The Fancy Envelope
  15. The Invitation
  16. The Book

My tippy-top guesses would have the be The Crown and The Ring. Those titles would certainly go along with what I’m guessing will be themes in the book – the monarchy and marriage. I also considered The Tiara, I don’t think it sounds as nice as my two other titles. Also, it’s already implied that Eadlyn will be getting a tiara because she’s in line to be queen no matter what. However, this book will determine who will be crowned as the future king. Plus, people have different ways of pronouncing tiara (tee-are-a or tee-air-a) and we don’t need to be starting any wars in the fandom.
So those are all my thoughts! Maybe you have different opinions and maybe you don’t care at all, but I’d love to hear any and all of your thoughts in the comments (although maybe not any *eye roll*s. There’s a pretty good chance I’ll post my predictions post for what will all happen in the fifth book on Thursday once the title is released, so keep an eye out for that.
Have a wonderful Tuesday, and thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

(Update from future Audrey: Last night after writing this I had a dream that the book was called “Oranges” and the first sentence was, “Haha it didn’t start with ‘The’.” I don’t know how this is relevant to anything, but I thought I would share.)

10 thoughts on “The Selection #5 (The Heir #2?) EXCITEMENT

  1. You don’t need to apologize for things you like, my darling, never! Everybody has the right of having an opinion and it’s wrong to apologize for a good opinion – you apologize if you hate the thing, hahaha! ❤ Don't be so hard on yourself, doll!
    I'm also very excited with this news. I was sure that there was going to be at least another full novel in the series, but it's nice to see them promoting it already! I can't wait to see how this is going to end – and I like The Crown better for a title, but who am I to opinate? Hahaha!
    xoxoxoxo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had no clue about this! I’ve read all of The Selection series minus the ones about Eadlyn, so I’m looking forward to that! I love the idea of having a teaser like this! I feel like more authors should do it. My vote’s on The Ring. Can’t wait to see what the title is!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

