September Wrap-Up of All the Things!

wrap up tbr bookhaul

*Obligatory comment about how I can’t believe another month has gone by already*
Hey guys! Congratulations on surviving the first month of school (or, if you’re not in school, Congratulations on being an adult!). I had a pretty fun reading/blogging month, so let’s get into it!

blogging accomplishments

Although I didn’t reach any huge milestone numbers this month, I still had a lot of new readers who for some reason decided to follow my bookish ramblings (hey!). I also got approved for ARCs by two publishers that I never had before, which is really exciting.
Remember how last month I promised there would be a giveaway sometime within September? I’m sorry! I’m working on it – promise.
I did, however, follow up on my goal of including more quotes during my reviews and making my blog look prettier by making nicer headers, which I’m having a lot of fun doing (or maybe I’m just telling myself that so I don’t feel like a complete failure about the giveaway thing).
Also, I made a meme thing! I started Match Made in Mondays a couple days ago and I’m super pumped about it.

wrap-up

Unsurprisingly, I didn’t read very many books this month. I wasn’t too disappointed about that because I knew life would be pretty crazy and weird as I tried to suddenly get used to a schedule that included me being at school and tennis for the majority of the day. I did, however, manage to read and review three books off of my TBR and one book that wasn’t. Those books were:

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare
The Young Elites by Marie Lu
Pop Sonnets by Erik Didriksen
Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

I’m also over halfway through Flashes by Tim O’Rourke and have read part one of Teen Angst? Naaah… by Ned Vizzini. Overall I would say that it was a pretty successful reading month. Although I didn’t read much I honestly read more than I expected to given the circumstances and I really enjoyed everything I read!

october tbr

I have so many books I want to read this month and that honestly really stresses me out. In my mind there are so many books that I’ve been hoping to read soon and because I knew that September would be crazy I just kept thinking, Okay, I’ll read that in October. And now it’s October and I’m like, Woah, there. 
I would really, really like to reread the first three books in the Lunar Chronicles series in preparation for Winter coming out in November (which is so soon all of a sudden and I am so unbelievably excited). I read all of those books in one day each when I first read them but now I’m back in school so there’s really no telling how long they could take me. I’m also really hoping to put together detailed summaries of all of the books (like, potentially chapter by chapter) so that other people who need to refresh their memories before going into Winter have that resource (let me know if that would be helpful for you!). It’s kind of overly ambitious at this point and I probably should’ve started this sooner… but that’s life.
There are also a ton of series that I’ve suddenly gotten the inexplicable urge to read and some of them I don’t even own (yet?). Plus, there are so many amazing books coming out this month that I absolutely want to read immediately. I’d also like to read some scary books because it’s October and that kind of seems to be the thing that people do.
But enough about my life story. Here’s my ridiculously over-ambitious October TBR that contains all the books that I’d like to read if this was an ideal world and I actually had the time. I will not be disappointed next month when I have to tell you that I didn’t get to all of these (at least that’s what I’m telling myself).

Flashes by Tim O’Rourke
Teen Angst? Naaah… by Ned Vizzini
Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Cress by Marissa Meyer
Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion
Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: Illustrated Edition by J.K. Rowling (I’M SO PUMPED HOLY COW)

Again, overly ambitious for me, but at least by making this list I know that I have a lot to look forward to.

BOOK HAUL

So remember my book buying ban from a couple of months ago? Nailed it! I mean, no one ever said it was a book obtaining ban, right? This month I managed to limit myself to only three books, and none of them were books that I went out and bought myself. They were:

Pop Sonnets by Erik Didriksen (sent to me by Quirk Books for review)
Flashes by Tim O’Rourke (sent to me by Scholastic, Inc. for review)
H2O by Virginia Bergin (given to me by my amazing father)

FUTURE PLANS

Keep reading! It bothers me so much that I haven’t been able to read as much lately so now that tennis is ending soon I’m hoping to be reading as much as possible.
Another thing that I’m going to work harder at this month is not neglecting my tags. I was tagged by so many amazing people to do amazing things this month and I would completely ignore them and not do the tag. It wasn’t intentional, of course. It was just that since I was having such a hard time getting posts up I felt like whenever I was posting something it should be something completely original. But I love doing tags, and I think they’re super fun to participate in and read, so I’m hoping to start catching up on the ones I missed this month and then not falling so far behind again. If you did tag me in something this month and I didn’t end up doing it, I am so sorry and I am grateful that you thought of tagging me. I didn’t intend to ignore you, I’m just a mess. 🙂
I also want to keep Match Made on Mondays going, whether or not other people decide to participate. I need to keep making Thursday Thoughts and Storytime Saturdays as well. Those posts usually take the longest to make and because this month was crazy (how many times am I going to bring that up in one post?) I usually ended up posting reviews on those days or nothing at all.
That’s another goal: I want to post something everyday of October, and something meaningful. I don’t know if I’ll end up doing it but I do know that I can do it, so that’s why it’s a goal.
And since we’ve gotten to the point of this post where I try to be all deep and inspirational, I should probably go. I hope you had a super great September and are about to have an even better October.

Thanks for reading! 🙂
bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

9 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up of All the Things!

  1. I’M READING THRONE OF GLASS TOO! Yaaaas! Omg, so excited for Winter! I have wanted to reread Cinder but no time 😦 I also cannot wait for the illustrated HP! I probably won’t be rereading it since I am already on the fourth book but I’m hoping my parents will let me buy it haha

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yay! I’m glad I’m not alone in reading Throne of Glass – it seems like everyone else read it ages ago! I honestly don’t know what I’m going to do once Winter comes out… I’ve been anticipating it so long that I’ll probably be holding it in my hands and still thinking about how much I can’t wait for it to come out. I absolutely cannot wait to have the illustrated HP – I think it’s going to be stunning and I don’t know if I’ll reread it from cover to cover but I might end up doing so because it’s Harry Potter and sometimes I can’t resist 😀 The fourth Harry Potter has always been my favorite 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • I finished Queen of Shadows on Sunday and I’m so excited for Winter and the illustrated HP I’ve been pondering getting my own HP collection cuz my mom has one and now I can it’ll take a few years but I’ll have the whole series illustrated and that’ll be amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t wait for the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone! I pre-ordered it forever ago and it’s finally (almost) here! Tuesday can’t come soon enough, although I won’t be starting it until November after I end my October Halloweeny TBR month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so excited as well! I’ll probably end up reading it right away, but I’m worried about when Amazon will actually get it to me. Sometimes they’re weird about shipping… if you pay for 4-5 day shipping they’ll either ship it 4-5 days in advance so you get it on the release date or 4-5 days after the release day 😦 so stressful but I’m still excited!!

      Like

  3. Hi Audrey!

    I have A LOT of friends who keep telling me to read The Lunar Chronicles, and I started reading Cinder, but the beginning didn’t pull me in 😦 Does it get better as the series progresses?

    I’M SOOOOOOO READY FOR THE SORCERER’S STONE ILLUSTRATED EDITION!!!!! I’m kind of scared that the pictures of the characters are going to mess up what I imagine Harry, Ron, and Hermione to look like,though….

    Also, thanks so much for following me! But you’re following my old blog, which I won’t be updating any time soon, and I moved all my content to my new blog: http://www.mysnugglyduckling.wordpress.com. Just thought Id let you know…..

    ~L

    Like

    • I followed your new blog! Thanks for letting me know 🙂
      Holy cow, I’m so honored to have the opportunity to have the opportunity to convince you to read the Lunar Chronicles! 😀 If I’m being honest, I didn’t love the beginning of Cinder either, and that’s coming from a person who now remembers that book as the first book in one of my favorite series of all time. In my opinion, each book is better than the last, and Cinder definitely picks up. By the middle of the book I was so attached to the characters that I was already crying over their struggles. Obviously I don’t want to force you to waste your time trying to finish a book that you’re really not enjoying, but they really do get better and I think they’re worth another shot if you’re hope for it. Hopefully you’ll end up loving them as much as I do!
      I was worried about that with the illustrated editions doing that for me, too, but I suppose the movies have already done a good enough job of that… If anything I think it’ll be really interested to see what the pictures add or takeaway from the story we all know and love. 🙂
      Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

