Waiting on Wednesday – September 23, 2015

waiting on wednesday

Hey guys! I hope that you’re having a really good Wednesday. This week has been kind of crazy for me. I had a tennis tournament and babysitting for most of the weekend and this week has been really busy so far with tennis practice and preparations for my school’s homecoming, so I’m sorry that I was absent for a while! I’ll be back pretty consistently now (knock on wood).
I’m so excited to freak out about this book with you as part of the Waiting on Wednesday meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. If you’ve been following my blog for a while you know that I love reading books that take place in the World War II era. I find them incredibly interesting and usually heart-wrenching. My favorite things about them are all the unique perspectives and story lines you can get from that time period. However, this book includes a factor that I have never heard of or even thought about for World War II… an alternate ending.

wolf by wolf by ryan graudin

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s ball.
Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female victor, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move. But as Yael begins to get closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

Barnes and Noble          Amazon            IndieBound          Goodreads
Release Date: October 20, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Details: Book #1 in a YA historical fiction/retelling series
Pages: 400

Do you ever read a synopsis for a book and get so excited because it’s such a brilliant idea but also get incredibly upset because why couldn’t you have thought of that brilliant idea first?! That’s exactly how I feel every time I think about this book. However, I think the excitement far outweighs the frustration.
First of all, a little birdie told me (the birdie being someone random person in a Goodreads review) that this book is the first in a duology. A good old-fashioned duology people! And I know, you’re probably as shocked as I was at first: There are incredibly good YA story ideas that aren’t be squished or stretched into trilogies? Well… yes? I’m too hopeful to do solid research and prove that little birdie right or wrong.
Also, this book has such a unique-sounding cast of characters! We have a character pretending to be another character, but we also have the brother and ex-lover of the person she is pretending to be? Do they know that it’s not her? And holy cow, I’m incredibly curious as to how Graudin will create Hitler as a character in a way that is upsetting to people yet also accurate enough to be included in this history retelling.
If you’re wondering how you recognize the name Ryan Graudin, it’s most likely because she’s the author of The Walled City, which was getting a lot of hype on Booktube and blogs upon its release. I haven’t read The Walled City, but the advanced reviews of Wolf by Wolf are already giving out higher ratings than those for The Walled City (seriously, they’re so positive and excitement-inducing! Be sure to check them out if you’re interested in this book and get the chance).


You’ve reached the end of this week’s Waiting on Wednesday post! I know it was a little longer than some of my past weeks’, but I’m honestly so pumped for this title to be released. What do you think about it? Are you adding it to your TBR and/or planning to pre-order it? It’s actually coming out pretty soon, unlike some of the other books I’ve been sharing lately.
If you made a Waiting on Wednesday post today, let me know in the comments so that I can check out your post and get excited about even more books!
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

Leave a Reply

