Waiting on Wednesday – September 16, 2015

waiting on wednesday

Hi, I hope that you are having a wonderful Wednesday (I literally sound like the morning announcements at my elementary school with all of this horrific alliteration)! I can’t believe that this work week is halfway over already. I hope that it’s been flying by as quickly for you as it has for me.
Today I decided to end my streak of featuring Waiting on Wednesday titles that aren’t coming out for months and months by letting you know about a book that’s coming out in November:

the golden braid by melanie dickerson

The one who needs rescuing isn’t always the one in the tower.
Rapunzel can throw a knife better than any man. She paints beautiful flowering vines on the walls of her plaster houses. She sings so sweetly she can coax even a beast to sleep. But there are two things she is afraid her mother might never allow her to do: learn to read and marry.
Fiercely devoted to Rapunzel, her mother is suspicious of every man who so much as looks at her daughter and warns her that no man can be trusted. After a young village farmer asks for Rapunzel’s hand in marriage, Mother decides to move them once again—this time, to the large city of Hagenheim.
The journey proves treacherous, and after being rescued by a knight—Sir Gerek—Rapunzel, in turn, rescues him farther down the road. As a result, Sir Gerek agrees to repay his debt to Rapunzel by teaching her to read. Could there be more to him than his arrogance and desire to marry for riches and position?
As Rapunzel acclimates to life in a new city, she uncovers a mystery that will forever change her life. In this Rapunzel story unlike any other, a world of secrets and treachery are about to be revealed after seventeen years. How will Rapunzel finally take control of her own destiny? And who will prove faithful to a lowly peasant girl with no one to turn to?

Barnes and Noble          Amazon         Goodreads          IndieBound
Released: November 17, 2015 by Nelson, Thomas, Inc.
Pages: 368
Genre: YA Christian Fantasy

MY THOUGHTS

I haven’t heard much of anything about this book, but it sounds like such a fun adventure! You’ve got amazing elements like princesses doing the rescuing and a storyline that follows someone who is passionate about reading, not to mention the fact that this book is released almost exactly a month after Winter by Marissa Meyer comes out. I know exactly what I’ll turned to as soon as I finish that book and I’m feeling deprived of fairytale retelling goodness.
I’m also really excited that this book is written by a Christian author. I’ve never read a fiction Christian book that was completely centered around outright Christian characters, and from the Goodreads reviews I’ve read for this book it sounds like the Christian elements are more subtle and worked into the plot, so anyone could enjoy this book.
The whole “Sir Gerek” character seems like an interesting guy. I hope that he isn’t just your standard “bad guy with a dark past which excuses his obnoxious actions” male protagonist. I also find it really interesting that the synopsis suggests that maybe her mother isn’t actually evil in this retelling, just over-protective.
I don’t know, guys. You all are aware that I’m a sucker for retellings, and this one is no exception. Although I don’t think “The Golden Braid” is the most creative title for a Rapunzel remake, I am holding out hope that this will be as fun a read as it sounds!


There’s my Waiting on Wednesday for this week! Do you think you’ll be picking up this book once it’s released? Or did you make your own Waiting on Wednesday post that you’re dying to get your hands on? Let me know in the comments below so that I can be sure to check out your thoughts.
Thanks for reading! 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday – September 16, 2015

Leave a Reply

