The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

book tag

Hey guys! So it’s been a while since I’ve posted a book tag (or a post in general… sorry!). I decided to do a tag that I actually wasn’t even tagged for today, even though I have a ton of other super fun ones to catch up on. I’m hoping to have a lot more of these posts out by the end of the month, but I’ve been a huge fan of this tag for a while and I thought it was about time that I made my own response, even if I wasn’t tagged (I’m pretty sure I wasn’t). This is definitely my favorite tag to read through and watch. You can watch the original video here. The tag is called:

the unpopular opinions book tag

1. A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE:
The Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner. This series seems to be one of those ones that you either really love or really don’t, but unfortunately I fell on the latter side. The first book was decent enough but the second book pulled a Matched and just had them wander through the desert. Not to mention the fact that the ending was quite possibly the worst ending I’ve read to a series. Again, I know a lot of people who love these books but I didn’t enjoy the time I spent reading those three books (I didn’t bother with the prequel).

2. A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE:
The Selection Series by Kiera Cass. I’ve made so many posts about these books and my thoughts on them, but basically I love them with every bit of my heart, even though the characters are incredibly indecisive and often stupid. I find them incredibly addictive and fun. I totally understand the reasoning some people have behind hating them, but those things don’t really bother me when it comes to these books.

3. A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE MAIN CHARACTER ENDED UP WITH THE PERSON YOU DIDN’T WANT THEM TO:
So many books. I’m going to start with the first series that provided this predicament, The Hunger Games. Gale always felt like a realer character to me than Peeta. Both boys were great, but Gale broke the law and potentially faced major punishments every day to provide for Katniss’s entire family. Peeta threw her a loaf of burnt bread and only faced the wrath of his mother. My second pick would have to be The Infernal Devices trilogy. It’s not that I didn’t like who Tessa was with in the end, it was just that by the time that Clockwork Princess ended I was frustrated with literally everything involving that love triangle. Finally, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Now, I know what you’re thinking. “What the heck? There isn’t a love triangle in TFIOS.” I mean, call me crazy, but if I’m being honest I was definitely a Hazaac shipper for a while there. 🙂

4. A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY EVER REACH FOR:
Horror and Sci-Fi. Horror shouldn’t be too surprising because I’m sure I’ve made it clear in some of my other posts what a colossal wimp I am, but Sci-Fi might be a little surprising. Don’t get me wrong, I occasionally read Sci-Fi and I’ve read some books from that genre that I really enjoyed, but there has never been a time in my life so far when I thought, Dang, I could really go for a Sci-Fi book right now. I don’t particularly enjoy science. It’s consistently been my least favorite subject throughout all my years of schooling, so I think the Sci in Sci-Fi might be want turns me off from the genre.

5. A POPULAR BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE:
I mentioned this in my last Top Ten Tuesday, but Rose Hathaway from The Vampire Academy series. She was so frustrating, and so many of her actions were over-reactions and only caused more issues. I also hated how judgmental she was towards Christian in the first book and how she treated Lissa, who was supposedly her best friend. I could go on, but I’ll stop there. She just didn’t click right with me.

6. A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO:
Gayle Forman! I hate that this is my answer, but unfortunately it is. I read her duology composed of If I Stay and Where She Went, and I just wasn’t blown away. They took me a while to get through and upon finishing I had no urge to pick up anything else she’s written. I know that a lot of people love her work, but I guess it’s just not the right style for me.

7. A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE SICK OF SEEING:
I know I’ve mentioned this in a previous post, but I’m so tired of all of those nice guy-girl friendships that are so hard to come by suddenly turned romantic because this is YA, why not? It drives me nuts, and honestly isn’t realistic. Like, We’ve been friends for 10 years and have told everyone that we’re just friends for that long, but it’s totally plausible that we both develop feelings for each at the exact same time and begin a relationship with no awkwardness or problems. Just once, I’d love to see one of those pivotal moments of two childhood friends leaning in for their first kiss turned into someone getting friend-zoned hardcore. Just saying.

8. A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING:
The Shatter Me trilogy by Tahareh Mafi. This is probably the most unpopular opinion-y thing in this post so far, but I don’t ever see myself picking up these books. A good friend of mine recently read this series and ranted to me about her issues with it, and they sound like things that would bother me, too. I know that the writing style is really “unique and beautiful”, but from the small excerpts I’ve read of it I found it more distracting than poetic. I didn’t love the whole idea of crossing things out randomly in the middle of the narrative and having actual numbers instead of writing them out (i.e. I have 10 apples vs. I have ten apples). If you really think I should read these, let me know, but as of right now I have no plans to.

9. WHAT MOVIE OR TV SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?
A book blogger admitting to like an adaptation more than the original book? Scandalous! However, I’m going to have to bring up The Maze Runner again. While I didn’t enjoy the book, I thought it translated really well to film and didn’t feel as slow paced. Plus, Dylan O’Brien.


So that was the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag! I know it got pretty long, but hopefully you enjoyed it! I’m not going to tag anyone specific just because I know it’s been going around for a while and I don’t know who has done it/who wants to do it. However, if you are interested in sharing your own unpopular opinions, consider yourself tagged! Be sure to let me know if you end up making one because, like I said, this is one of my favorite tags to read through and I’d love to hear your answers.
Thanks for reading!

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

29 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. I didn’t really like Rose Hathaway in the first VA book, although I think her character improved a bit in later books. I tried reading Shatter Me. I even made it to a sequel and a novella but then I just couldn’t do it anymore and abandoned the series. It is now the series I dislike the most. Like your friend, I thought it had so many issues. I’m glad to see there are people who share that particular unpopular opinion of mine XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually love the Maze Runner series, but I agree, the ending was really bad, and the movies are better, though they did change a fair bit of the plot. Have you watched The Scorch Trials yet? 😛

    100% agreeing with you though on the nice guy-girl friendships too. For me, even one of them having (unrequited) feelings for the other is overdone—sometimes I want to read a book where the guy and the girl just stay platonic friends and that’s it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have yet to see The Scorch Trials but I’m really excited to watch it! I feel like the only place that guy-girl friendships stay friendships nowadays are in middle grade books, which is frustrating. I can’t remember the last time I read a YA that didn’t somewhat involve romance. I’d love to see a platonic friendship as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, let me know what you think of it when you see it! One of my friends is really angry because of the plot changes and I think many people are divided on it. 🙂 Yes, you’d be right. I wish there was more focus on friendship too… but I can’t deny that by and large I’ve always enjoyed having elements of romance in everything that I read, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

