Top Ten Tuesday: Unfinished Series

top ten tuesday

Hey guys! I hope you’re having an amazing week so far. It’s been far too long since I’ve participated in a “Top Ten Tuesday” hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and I loved today’s topic so I thought it’d be the perfect opportunity to jump back into doing these. I guess we’re going to have to ease back into it slowly, however, because I was only able to think of five good examples for today’s topic:

top ten five finished series i have yet to finish

#1: THE LEGEND TRILOGY BY MARIE LU
This series is the first one I thought of when I heard this topic because it honestly feels so ridiculous to me that I still haven’t finished it. I own all of the books and I read the first one along with most of the second, but I just didn’t power through to the end. I was actually really enjoying the books but I had so many other things I wanted to read and then I was completely spoiled, which was a bummer. I’m currently reading The Young Elites by Marie Lu, so if I’m completely devastated while waiting – what, a month? – for the sequel and feel like I need more of her writing I know where I’ll go.

#2: THE VAMPIRE ACADEMY SERIES BY RICHELLE MEAD
I’m so sad that this series has to be on this list. If I’m being completely honest and unpopular opinion-y, I did have some pretty big issues with these books, like the weird relationship between Dimitri and Rose, the way that Rose treated Lissa, and just Rose’s personality in general… but guys. Guys. This is a six book series and I made it through five. I was so close to finishing it off because I really did want to continue on to the Bloodlines series which I hear is a lot better, but I just couldn’t do it. Though I’d like to be able to check this series off the list, I can’t imagine it happening anytime soon because I can’t remember anything that was going on and I don’t plan to reread the first five books.

#3: THE TWILIGHT SAGA BY STEPHANIE MEYER
A friend of mine is a huge fan of this series and convinced me to give it a shot. I read and was entertained by the first three books, but stopped reading when I wasn’t enjoying Breaking Dawn. I have about 400 pages left, and I could probably power through it in a day or two. I imagine that I’ll finish the series eventually, but I’m not in any huge rush. Clearly I have issues with the last books in vampire series.

#4: THE MAXIMUM RIDE SERIES BY JAMES PATTERSON
Even though I love these characters and books with all my heart, I don’t think I’m ever going to finish reading them. Why? Because I don’t think James Patterson will ever finish writing them. It started out as a trilogy, but then he pulled a Cassandra Clare and decided to add more books. The next book had a very satisfying conclusion, and left me thinking that this was going to be a super solid four book series. But wait! There’s more coming. Four more coming. The ending of the eighth book didn’t make any sense, but whatever. It’s over, the cover says “RIP Maximum Ride”, the title is literally “Nevermore”, every can move on. And then, over a year later, a ninth book is announced. And what’s it called? Maximum Ride: Forever. Nice use of irony there, James. I have no plans to read it, although I probably will end up reading it at some point because it’s Max and she’s literally my childhood. But sigh. It’s described as a “brand-new grand finale!”. You only get one shot at a grand finale. Stop, please.

#5: THE DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE TRILOGY BY LAINI TAYLOR
We’ll end it off on a good note here. This is a trilogy that I definitely plan to finish: the sooner, the better. I read about 90% of the first book last year and I was absolutely loving it. The writing style is so incredibly beautiful and I was totally invested in the storyline. The issue for me was simply the time that I was reading it at. Last year at the end of eighth grade was the most ridiculously busy time for me, and I was reading about a book a month, which was literally driving me crazy. I’m typically a pretty fast reader but for some reason I have the hardest time reading fantasy books. I’ll enjoy them, but I read them at snail’s pace, whether they are super high fantasy or not. The fact that these books are pretty slow reads for me combined with the issue that I had no time to read them caused me to put them down and opt for a couple months of contemporaries. I need to get back to this trilogy!


So that’s my Top Ten (well, five) Tuesday for this week! Did you make a Top Ten Tuesday post? Be sure to let me know in the comments so that I can check it out?
Have you read, or need to read, any of the books I mentioned? I know that they’re all pretty popular series, so I’m sorry if I got a little rant-y about one of your favorites. Lots of people love these books, but some of them just weren’t my cup of tea. If I finish these books we’ll see if any of my opinions change from this post!
Thanks for reading 🙂

bloglovininstagramtwittergoodreads

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Unfinished Series

  1. When I saw The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy on here, my feathers instantly ruffled…WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU HAVEN’T FINISHED IT? Hahaha, I’m glad that you’ve got plans to go back and see it through. As for some of the others…don’t worry, I never finished The Vampire Academy either, and I put about two years between the first three Twilight books and the day I finally got around to reading Breaking Dawn XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also only managed to make it through 5 books of the Vampire Academy series! To begin with I really enjoyed it but then a friend of mine said the 6th book wasn’t very good and spoiled it for me, so I didn’t bother. I had very mixed feelings about Legend. Heard so many great things about it but I found it a bit ‘meh.’ Agree with you on Daughter of Smoke & Book! Beautiful writing but find it hard getting into fantasy books too. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’m glad I’m not alone with Vampire Academy, although I’m sorry to hear that you got spoiled! Legend did start to feel like just a typical dystopian for me after a while, but some of my friends just won’t stop talking about how heartbreaking the ending is, and although I was already pretty spoiled for it I want to experience it myself! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

