Waiting on Wednesday – September 2, 2015

waiting on wednesday

Hello! Welcome to another Waiting on Wednesday post. Every Wednesday I participate in the weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where I talk about a book being released sometime in the future that I’m super pumped for.
Last week I tortured everyone by sharing a book that sounded amazing but one that isn’t going to be out until January. This week, because high school is breaking my spirit and thus taken away any remnants of compassion, I’m sharing a book that isn’t going to be out for even longer! Sorry. I’m just incredibly excited for this title and I wanted to share it ASAP.
The book is…

unbecoming by jenny downham

Katie’s life is falling apart: her best friend thinks she’s a freak, her mother, Caroline, controls every aspect of her life, and her estranged grandmother, Mary, appears as if out of nowhere. Mary has dementia and needs lots of care, and when Katie starts putting together Mary’s life story, secrets and lies are uncovered: Mary’s illegitimate baby, her zest for life and freedom and men; the way she lived her life to the full yet suffered huge sacrifices along the way. As the relationship between Mary and Caroline is explored, Katie begins to understand her own mother’s behavior, and from that insight, the terrors about her sexuality, her future, and her younger brother are all put into perspective.
A vivid and exhilarating celebration of family, identity, life and–ultimately–love.

Release Date: February 23, 2016
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Pages: 384
Genre: YA Contemporary
Barnes and Noble          Goodreads          Amazon          IndieBound

Is it just me, or does that sound fantastic? I love the fact that this book doesn’t seem to follow one specific plot line. Instead, it seems to be more of an adventure and life journey that you spend with these characters, and the reader is waiting to see what will happen next and where the story will go. The idea of these deep secrets being revealed within a family absolutely fascinates me, and the fact that the main characters span three generations will most likely provide some very unique perspectives on different issues and topics.
I also think that this book will do something to my heart… or give me all the feels, you could say. I don’t know for sure if it will end up being heartwarming or heartbreaking, but I’m guessing that it will be one (if not both) of those things which I find super exciting.
Also, can we talk about the cover? I really, really like it. The background color is definitely one of my favorites, and I love the simplicity. I also love the font that the title and author name is written in. The style of making the words look like they were written with marker or something seems to be a trend as of late, and I’m loving it! (bah duh bah bah bahhh)


So that was my Waiting on Wednesday post for this week! Honestly, right now I’m just constantly Waiting on Friday. I’ve hardly gotten any reading done, and although we’re literally only one day into the month, it’s really stressing me out.
Speaking of Waiting on Wednesday and books you should be waiting on, The Marvels by Brian Selznick is releasing in exactly two weeks (okay, one week and six days, but who’s counting?)! That’s plenty of time to preorder the book and have it sitting on your doorstep the day of the release. I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC copy of this wonderful book, and I would highly recommend it. If you’re interested in hearing more information about that book, be sure to check out my review.
Did you do a Waiting on Wednesday post this week? Let me know in the comments so that I can check it out! Do you think you’ll be preordering my pick?
Thanks for reading! 🙂

Instagram: @forwardsandbookwords
Twitter: @BookwordsBlog
Goodreads: /forwardsandbookwords
Bloglovin’: Forwards and Bookwords

Leave a Reply

