August Wrap-Up of All the Things!

wrap up tbr bookhaul

Hey guys! I honestly can’t believe that I’m already doing another “Wrap-Up of All the Things”. Time definitely flies – I can’t believe that I’m starting high school tomorrow. SOS.
These posts tend to be pretty long, so I’ll spare you the bad puns and we’ll get right in to it:

blog accomplishments

This month brought many blog accomplishments! Today is my two month blogaversary, which is exciting. I don’t normally last this long on new projects, but I’m hoping to stick with blogging for a very long time.
I also reached one hundredΒ Twitter followers and Goodreads friends this month. Not only that, but I’m currently two followers away for 1,000 on Instagram! Celebratory giveaways coming soon – I promise.
Perhaps most excitingly, this month someone used the search term “hipster” and was led to my site. I have no ideaΒ how, but I think that’s pretty cool (and kind of sad). But, my dear hipster hunter, I hope you liked what you saw.

the books that i read

This month I read four books that were on my August TBR and 3.36 books that were not, which I’d say is a pretty decent reading month. The books were:

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider
One of the Few by Jason B. Ladd
The Marvels by Brian Selznick
Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith
I also read 203 pages of Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

As you know, I review every book I read, so you can click on the title of each of those books to read my review if you’re interested. In the coming months, I’m hoping to significantly improve the quality of my reviews, with fancier headers (okay, maybe that’s not that important) and quotes from the book to support the points I’m making. If there’s anything else you be interested in seeing me include in my reviews, let me know!

august tbr

So, as I mentioned before, I start high school tomorrow. I’m pretty nervous and I know that the work load is going to be significantly more than middle school, and 100 times more than any work I’ve had to do over the summer while I’ve been doing this blog, so I don’t know how much extra time I’m going to be having. I’m still going to be blogging regularly, but I also have to make sure that I’m doing my homework, attending tennis practice every night, and competing in tournaments over the weekend. I’m sure that I’ll be perfectly fine once I get used to this new routine, but for this first month I have no idea how much reading I’ll be getting done. If I’m being honest, my one goal for reading this month is to be sure that I finish Clockwork Princess, because I’ve been reading it for a long time and it’s a pretty hefty book. But, because that’s not much of a TBR, here are the books that I’m hoping to read sometime soon, whether in September or October (click for Goodreads links):

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare
Autumn Brides by Various Authors
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen
The Young Elites by Marie Lu
How to Love by Katie Cotugno
Teen Angst? Naaaah… by Ned Vizzini

This TBR is incredibly over-ambitious given the circumstances, but go big or go home, right?

book haul

Remember the book-buying ban I decided to start last month? LOL.
This month I bought five books from the BookOutlet, which I actually think it pretty good considering they’ve had a bunch of amazing deals going on this month (some still going on, check them out!) and I exercised a lot of will power by only placing one order. I also got one book from Thriftbooks, one book while out shopping with a friend, and two books for free. Without further ado, here they are (click titles for Goodreads links):

Unwind by Neal Shusterman
Unwholly by Neal Shusterman
100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith
The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson
Cress by Marissa Meyer (Yes I bought another copy of Cress. Don’t judge me.)
The Legend of Eli Monpress by Rachel Aaron
Firecracker by David Iserson
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (the exclusive collector’s edition won in a giveaway hosted by Books, Tea, and a OnesieΒ as part of The Blog Olympics – thank you so much!)
Petey by Ben Mikaelsen (given to me by my mom! πŸ™‚ )

plans for the future

A giveaway! Keep blogging! Read-alongs! Fun fun fun!
I hope you have an amazing September, thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Instagram:Β @forwardsandbookwords
Twitter:Β @BookwordsBlog
Goodreads:Β /forwardsandbookwords
Bloglovin’:Β Forwards and Bookwords

15 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up of All the Things!

  1. You’ve got some great books on here! I’ve been meaning to read the Infernal Devices for such a long time, I’ve read the first one but haven’t continued yet.
    Good luck with school! I’m sure you’ll figure out how to juggle everything eventually πŸ™‚
    I just sent you a Goodreads friend request πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! Oh, and BTW I’m totes going to steal this wrap-up thing for my blog. LOL

    I’ve been blogging for about 3 months now, I believe, so haha! I beat you!

    …just kidding. πŸ˜›

    Well, have fun blogging and I hope you have an awesome autumn.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, and I was also wondering, we both started our blogs in June. How do you have 200 more subscribers than me? Lol I want to know your blogging secrets.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy two-month blogaversary! And congrats on having such an amazing blog. I’m majorly impressed and glad you found me so that I could find you back. I wish I had decided to try and start blogging when I was in high school. It’s so fulfilling! Good luck with your TBR this month and the new school year. I look forward to your future posts ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

