Top Ten Tuesday: Most Read Authors

top tenHappy day after Monday! I haven’t done a Top Ten Tuesday in a while, but I really liked the topic that The Broke and the Bookish provided for it today, so let’s get right into it!

  1. Mary Pope Osborne: MAGIC TREE HOUSE FOR THE WIN. If you didn’t read the Magic Tree House books as a kid, how did you learn your facts about random time periods and find a sense of magic? There are so many of these books out (the fifty-fourth is coming out in January… mark your calendars) but from browsing the list of all of them on Wikipedia I know I’ve read at least 25.
  2. Carolyn Keene:  If right now you’re thinking Who the heck is Carolyn Keene? let me respond with What the heck was your childhood? Carolyn Keene is the author of the Nancy Drew mystery novels. My sister especially was super into all of the mysteries, and when I got older I was too. I’ve read so many of them, but I could specifically remember and tell you the plots of 15 of them, so we’ll go with that.
  3. Roald Dahl: How can Roald Dahl not be on this list? Matilda is one of my favorite books to this day. I’ve read it at least ten times and I plan to continuing rereading all his books to my kids, grandkids, and innocent dog-walkers who pass by my house. His books are amazing, and I’ve read 14 so far, but I really need to get around to reading the rest.
  4. James Patterson: I’ve read so many James Patterson books, it’s ridiculous. To be fair, though, he does write an insane amount of books. I’ve read the first eight books in his Maximum Ride Series, along with the first two books in his Witch & Wizard series, the opening two novels in his middle-grade Middle School series, and lastly, the first book in his Confessions series, Confessions of a Murder Suspect. This brings the grand total to 13 books.
  5. Andrew Clements: Ever since my third grade teacher read Frindle out loud to us in class I was hooked on Andrew Clements’ books. I’ve read The School Story and No Talking at least three times each. His books are so much fun and I still love them and read them to this day, so far reading 12 books of his.
  6. J.K. Rowling: I know this might come as a shock to a lot of you because J.K. Rowling is such an undiscovered author and is really under the radar right now, but I’ve actually read a lot of her books. She wrote this series called Harry Potter which was pretty okay and it has seven books. I’ve also read the three smaller companion novels by J.K. Rowling that go along with the series which are Quidditch Through the Ages, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Themand Tales of Beedle the Bard for a total of 10 books. 
  7. Sarah Dessen: Next is the author who first got me into contemporary… and I’ve read a lot of her books. I just love that they all kind of take place within the same community but with mainly different characters. It’s fun to reread her books, too, and realize that some irrelevant character that was just briefly mentioned in one book is super relevant in another. My favorite thus far has got to be What Happened to Goodbye or Lock and Key, but I’ve read 8 books of Dessen’s total.
  8. Lemony Snicket: Lemony Snicket is the author of the 13 book long A Series of Unfortunate Events middle grade series. I read the books when I was younger and really enjoyed them but I actually never finished the entire series, instead stopping about halfway through. I read The Bad Beginning, The Reptile Room, The Wide Window, The Miserable Mill, The Austere Academy, The Ersatz Elevator, and The Vile Village which is 7 books.
  9. Judy Blume: Like Andrew Clements, it was a teacher who got me hooked on this author. My second grade teacher read Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing out loud to our class. We all thought it was hilarious – not to mention super edgy, because it used words like “stupid” – and I have continued reading her books, a total of 6 so far.
  10. Pseudonymous Bosch: I’ve read five books from so many different authors, but I couldn’t not put Pseudonymous Bosch on this list. He is, and always will be, one of my favorite authors of all time. His Secret Series is one of my all-time favorites, and when I went on his website to see what he was up to, I literally almost started crying because he has another book coming out. His series is middle grade, but it’s so wonderful. You should read it. (It’s 5 books long)

So those are my top ten! There are other authors who I’ve read a ton of books from that could’ve been on this list, but these are some of my favorite authors of all time so I wanted to be able to include them all.
Did you do a Top Ten Tuesday this week? Let me know, I’d love to check it out! Have you read any books by these authors? Have you read more books than me from these authors? Feel free to comment your thoughts, feelings, and/or grocery lists, I love talking with you!
Thanks for reading 🙂

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Read Authors

  1. YES YES YES. MARY POPE OSBORNE. Gosh, I loved those books! I also love Roald Dahl as well. And of course J.K. Rowling! I read a few Judy Blume (The Fudge Series) but not her newest book(s). I also haven’t read any Lemony Snicket (don’t kill me!) but hopefully I can read it soon. I know I’m a little too old but everyone keeps saying it’s a must read. Great list and thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was a little late to the Lemony Snicket bandwagon as well, it’s okay! I would definitely recommend his books if they interest you – they’re just so fun! They are, obviously, meant for younger readers but the humor in the narrative could appeal to everyone in my opinion. I can’t wait to hear what you think of them if you do end up picking them up 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. At one point I too got tied but in the Magic Tree House series! I have a bunch of Roald Daul’s books that I got from a boxed set and have reread most of them several times. Judy Blume is an amazing author who brought us Super Fudge and books along those lines. James Patterson brought us the Middle School series and the IFunny series. Great group of authors!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! What an amazing review of books. I think you probably realize that my favorite kid author was Carolyn Keene, because she was one of the very few who wrote a kid series. And, I would like to add, the love of Nancy Drew skipped a generation to you and your sister 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I forgot Magic Treehouse! And James Patterson! But honestly, I can’t remember if I ever finished the Maximum Ride series because I don’t think I read one of the books (it got extremely environmental). AND LEMONY SNICKET (sob, I forgot him too).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is an awesome list!!! Mine would look super similar. I read Roald Dahl books aloud to all my students this year and bought a box set for their classroom when I finished my student teaching… I just mentioned Matilda on a blog post of my top 5 books with inspiring girls and women. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It kind of depends what kind of story you’re in the mood for, but the Maximum Ride series has always been one of my favorites. The first book is called Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment. All of the characters are so fantastic and have really unique personalities. The series is about these kids who were taken from their homes and experimented on so that now they have wings. All the kids who were experimented on – though not related – now have joined forces to protect each other and have their own kind of family. They’re fantastic! 🙂

      Like

  6. Gosh, I have so much Magic Tree House books! I remember being sad because they stopped making the usual series and started the Merlin Missions. Haha, but that didn’t last long because the Merlin Missions won me over 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

