Tag: The Fireworks Book Tag!

Booktag!

The Fireworks Book tag

So remember that book buying ban that I mentioned like three days ago? Yup, I broke it already.

Hello, hello, and welcome to this wonderful day we like to call Tuesday. I decided that today would be a bit of a “Tag Tuesday” for me, since I was just recently tagged by the wonderful blogger who is the Rawrdy Rawr Book Dino to do her original tag, “The Fireworks Book Tag!” This tag has some awesome questions and I’m excited to share my answers, so let’s get started!

1. Screamers: A book that made you want to scream! (in a good or bad way)

For this one I’m going to have to go with The One by Kiera Cass. Even though I absolutely love The Selection series and it will always hold a special place in my heart, the last ten chapters of that book were too much for me. There were so many emotions and then that one last stupid thing that America caused with her indecision made me lose it. I was actually scream crying in the back of my mom’s car before a soccer game, and I refused to leave and warm-up with my team until I finished the book and found out if it was all going to be okay. America Singer, you give me gray hair.

2. BOMBERS: A BOOK YOU READ BEFORE IT EXPLODED IN THE BOOK COMMUNITY 

For this one, I’m going to answer with the book I’m most proud to be a book hipster of: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. That’s right guys – *grabs hipster-y nerd glasses and whips out Tumblr* – I read TFIOS before it was cool. When I first read TFIOS I had no idea who John Green was and there was no talk of it being turned into a movie. I’m sure there are a lot of other people who read it before me, so it’s not like this is my proudest accomplishment in life, but I am really glad I read it before it was so hyped up for multiple reasons. First of all, I feel like some of the people who are only reading it now have heard so many amazing things about it that it’s been hyped up in their mind to an impossible standard. When I first read it, I knew nothing about it so it absolutely blew my expectations out of the water. Second of all, when I read the book there wasn’t a cast list with who was going to play who, so I got to enjoy the book imagining my own characters before it was tainted by Ansel Elgort who, although he has a very nice face, looks nothing like the Augustus I pictured. Thirdly, I didn’t have to worry about being spoiled because not very many people had read it yet. I could happily scroll through Bookstagram or Tumblr without being bombarded with spoiler-y posts screaming about, “THE FEELS.”

3. BANGER: A BANNED BOOK YOU READ 

I mean, I’ve read Harry Potter, which is a frequently banned book. Even though Harry Potter isn’t really banned in schools anymore, I know a lot of parents who ban their kids from reading it. I’m so thankful that my parents let me read these books, because if they hadn’t there’s no way I would be writing this post on my book blog today. Harry Potter for the win.

4. PEONY: A BOOK/AUTHOR YOU THINK EVERYONE NEEDS TO READ 

Because the name of this firework is also the name of one of the characters created by this literary queen, I kind of felt the need to say that everyone needs to read a book by Marissa Meyer. Now, you might be thinking, But Audrey, Marissa Meyer has only written The Lunar Chronicles! Your point is? This is honestly a round-a-bout way of me telling you to read the Lunar Chronicles. Do it. Just read them. (And then come back and comment below so we can cry about how the release date for Winter is four months away and they’re not giving out ARCs.)

5. CROSSETTE: A BOOK/SERIES WITH A COMPLICATED PLOT 

For this one I’m going to pick a book series that might surprise some people: The Divergent series by Veronica Roth. I absolutely loved Divergent because it was such a great and long dystopian novel but it was easy to follow and read through very quickly. Then we get to Insurgent… and all I remember is that it starts on a train. Insurgent took me such a long time to read because everything starts changing and there’s so much happening while at the same time it feels like nothing in the story is happening at all. By the time we get to Allegiant, you’d think it was from an entirely separate series than Divergent. Don’t get me wrong – I loved these books. It just started to get a little cray-cray for me.

6. DIADEM: A BOOK/SERIES WITH AMAZING CENTRAL CHARACTERS 

For this one I was pretty tempted to pick Harry Potter again, but I don’t want to be boring you and picking Harry Potter for everything so instead I decided to go with The Secret Series by Pseudonymous Bosch. These books are honestly tied with Harry Potter for my favorite series from elementary school. When I started the first book of this series I was in the middle of reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix for the first time and I went back and forth between them because I was enjoying them both so much. I also loved this books in elementary school because by the time I started reading Harry Potter all of the books were out. For these books, however, I was preordering them and making paper-chain countdowns until the next release. All of the characters in these books are so incredibly rich and real, and even the omniscient narrator had such an incredible personality. I highly recommend picking these books up, no matter what age you are.

7. MATCHES: LIGHT YOUR OWN FIREWORKS BY TAGGING FIVE PEOPLE

Because I’m feeling kind of lazy and I’m not quite sure who to tag for this tag, if you’re reading this and you’re interested in participating in this super fun tag, you’re officially tagged! I highly recommend you participate because I had a blast (get it?) doing this tag and the Rawrdy Rawr Book Dino deserves to have the tag she worked hard to create make its way around the blogosphere. Thanks for reading 🙂

7 thoughts on “Tag: The Fireworks Book Tag!

  1. Thanks so much for doing this, i loved your answers! I totally agree on the Selection, every time something came up with America and Maxon I was screaming for her to tell him. I wish I had read TFiOS before it became so popular because I was obviously spoiled. I have been dying to read the Lunar Chronicles. My sister owns them, so I’ll have to borrow them from her.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I mentally did a badum tsk in my head when you made that “blast” pun 😄
    Anyways, I think this tag is cute! The questions are good but since I’m not likely to do it, I’ll just go ahead and say that I read Ready Player One before it got popular and now I just snort when I hear people recommending it to others because I was doing it way before they did.
    Also, I keep reading “Crossette” as croissant.
    The Pseudonymous Bosch books are so good! I don’t think I finished the series but I remember enjoying them a lot. They’re so quirky!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

