Waiting on Wednesday – July 29, 2015

waiting on wednesdayHello, and happy Wednesday!  Congratulations on making it halfway through the week.**  Just think about it: tomorrow is the last day of the work week that isn’t Friday.  You can do it.

**That is, of course, assuming that I figured out how to use the scheduled post thing correctly and today is still Wednesday… It might be Tuesday… or Thursday.  Someone teach me how to timezone, please. Thanks.

Today’s featured book for Waiting on Wednesday is:

Zeroes by Scott westerfeld

I haven’t been hearing too much buzz about this book yet in the bookish world, but I am super excited about it:

Don’t call them heroes.

But these six Californian teens have powers that set them apart.

Take Ethan, a.k.a. Scam. He’s got a voice inside him that’ll say whatever you want to hear, whether it’s true or not. Which is handy, except when it isn’t—like when the voice starts gabbing in the middle of a bank robbery. The only people who can help are the other Zeroes, who aren’t exactly best friends these days.

Enter Nate, a.k.a. Bellwether, the group’s “glorious leader.” After Scam’s SOS, he pulls the scattered Zeroes back together. But when the rescue blows up in their faces, the Zeroes find themselves propelled into whirlwind encounters with ever more dangerous criminals. At the heart of the chaos they find Kelsie, who can take a crowd in the palm of her hand and tame it or let it loose as she pleases.

Filled with high-stakes action and drama, Zeroes unites three powerhouse authors for the opening installment of a thrilling new series.

This book doesn’t sound like a book that would typically appeal to me, but for some reason it has me really excited.  I love it when a book is filled with quirky, crazy characters that are just thrown together in high-stakes situations, which is exactly what this sounds like.  The synopsis doesn’t tell you too much, but I think it’s going to be a really fun story.

Here’s the second reason I’m so excited about it: Last year, all of the Booktubers and bloggers came home from BEA holding that “gorgeous, new” Scott Westerfeld book Afterworlds.  As soon as it came out I bought it and Afterworlds ended up being one of my favorite books of 2014.  Now, here come all the Booktubers with their books from BEA, and what are they all hauling?  Some “gorgeous, new” Scott Westerfeld books.  Though I have yet to read the Uglies series (I’ll hoping be marathoning it later this year) Scott Westerfeld has yet to let me down with his other works and I’m really excited about this one.

Barnes and Noble          Amazon          Goodreads

Release Date: September 29, 2015

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Pages: 560

Genre and Age Classification: Young Adult fantasy


So that’s all from me guys!  Do you think you’ll be picking up this book?  or What book are you anticipating?  Did you make a Waiting on Wednesday this week?  Let me know, I’d love to check it out!

Thanks for reading 🙂

9 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday – July 29, 2015

Leave a Reply

