Review #10: Neil Gaiman’s “Make Good Art” speech

MAKE GOOD ART BY NEIL GAIMAN

Description: Commencement speech given by Neil Gaiman at Philadelphia’s University of the Arts
Publishing Information: HarperCollins Publishers, May 14, 2013
Pages: 80
First Line: I never really expected to find myself giving advice to people graduating from an establishment of higher education.
Goodreads          Amazon          Barnes and Noble

Cover review: This entire book is stunning. ‘Nuff said.

SYNOPSIS (FROM THE INSIDE OF THE BOOK)

In May 2012, bestselling author Neil Gaiman stood at a podium at Philadelphia’s University of the Arts to deliver the commencement address. For the next nineteen minutes he shared his thoughts about creativity, bravery, and strength; he encouraged the students before him to break rules and think outside the box. Most of all, he urged to fledgling painters, musicians, writers, and dreamers to MAKE GOOD ART. This book, designed by renowned graphic artist Chip Kidd, contains the full text of Gaiman’s inspiring speech. Whether bestowed upon a young artist beginning his or her creative journey, or given as a token of gratitude to an admired mentor, or acquired as a gift to oneself, this volume is a fitting offering for anyone who strives to MAKE GOOD ART.

PROS AND CONS

It’s hard for me to review this book because it isn’t like the typical books I read. It doesn’t have characters or a set plot. Instead, it is a cute, tiny book containing the masterpiece that is Neil Gaiman’s Make Good Art speech. I might as well start with that: the speech. I absolutely loved the speech and the message of this book. It’s short and sweet, yet incredibly inspiring. I immediately wanted to write a book or something after reading it. If you want to just watch Neil Gaiman saying the speech, you can here. However, I really enjoy owning this book, for multiple reasons.

1) It’s absolutely stunning: I don’t know how to tell you how gorgeous this book is. Chip Kidd did an incredible job of playing around with the formatting and adding designs. The entire book follows a simple color scheme of red and blue… that’s it. I wish I could take the time to show you ever single gorgeous page, but I’ll instead settle for this picture of all of the pages that I took and posted on my Instagram:

Screen Shot 2015-07-24 at 9.18.31 PM2) It’s so inspirational: This book is such a fast and easy read (I literally read it in fifteen minutes), so I’ll definitely be referencing back to it when I need to get inspired.

3) It’s so quotable: Need a caption for your #selfiesunday? Look no further. I was thinking about tabbing the pages of all my favorite quotes, but then I realized I would just be tabbing every single page. One of my favorites is, “If you don’t know it’s impossible it’s easier to do.”

FINAL THOUGHTS

I really, really enjoyed this book. It has such a fun, gorgeous design and format that I’m resisting the urge to make my Instagram feed “Make Good Art” themed. The speech is also incredible, so if you don’t want to spend money on such a little book (which is understandable) I would highly recommend at least listening to it.

5/5 stars

5 duck

4 thoughts on “Review #10: Neil Gaiman’s “Make Good Art” speech

  1. This sounds right up my alley. Gaiman is wonderful, and I’m sure it’s an inspirational piece. Thanks for sharing!

    If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

