Feature Friday: Two Bookish Websites

feature fridayHappy Friday you wonderful human being you!  I’ve actually managed to do two Feature Fridays in a row – it’s an end of the week miracle.  Anyway, I hope you’re having an absolutely amazing day, and I hope that I can serve to make it even more amazing by featuring two fun websites I’ve discovered for this week’s Feature Friday:

WWW.WHATSHOULDIREADNEXT.COM

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 2.26.31 PM

That’s right my book-loving friends.  Technology is proving once again that it can help us in ways we never thought it could.  Its use this time?  Book recommendations.

I discovered “What Should I Read Next?” a couple months ago at school when I was bored.  I typed in “What should I read next” into Google, thinking that I would get brought to some Goodreads list.  Instead, I stumbled upon this website.

It’s pretty simple to use.  All you do is type in the title or author of the last book you enjoyed, confirm the correct book, and then the website will bring up a large list of books that you might enjoy reading next.

For example, type in “Cinder”, confirm that you’re talking about the book by Marissa Meyer, and then get book recommendations such as:

  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
  •  A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
  • Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake
  • The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

And many, many more.  It’s really fun to mess around with and the best part is that there’s an “Info/Buy” button right next to all of the recommendations which you can click.  That’ll take you right to an Amazon search for the book you’re interested in reading next.

WWW.WHERESHOULDIREADNEXT.COM

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 2.33.15 PM

This website was created by the same people who made the other website I mentioned, although I think this one is even cooler.  It’s super simple: You just click on any country on the map or any of the specific cities that they’ve included, and you’ll be given a list of books that take place their, star characters from that place, or books that discuss a lot of history or culture from that place.  I think it’s such an incredible feature because it makes it so easy to find books that might appeal to you if you’re interested in a specific part of the world or culture.  As an example, click on Paris, France, and be told about books like:

  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  • The Magician: Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

And many more!  Again, these websites aren’t too amazingly fancy, but they are a cool way to discover new titles and find books that you might end up really enjoying!


That was my Feature Friday for today!  I hope you enjoyed what you read.  If you end up checking out these websites or if you’ve used them before I’d love to hear your thoughts about them!  Also let me know if you have any other fun bookish websites that you know about because I always like to explore new ones.

Thanks for reading 🙂

10 thoughts on “Feature Friday: Two Bookish Websites

  1. These are seriously awesome – thank you for sharing! Goodreads gives me some seriously dodgy recs on the homepage – not even in the same genre! The first site will definitely be helpful. And the second one will be awesome for exploring new places/cultures that we wouldn’t usually read about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

