Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

A couple of days ago I was lucky enough to be nominated for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers award by two people, Priyanka and Lizette.  Thank you so, so much for thinking to nominate me. 🙂  The rules are:

  • Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you
  • Answer the questions they provided you
  • Create 10 questions for the people you nominated to answer

Because I was nominated by Priyanka and Lizette on the same day, I decided to do the first five questions that Priyanka gave me and the last five questions that Lizette gave me so that I’m answering ten total questions. 🙂 So let’s get right into it!

Priyanka’s questions: 

1. Favorite book series?  

Harry Potter of course!  Harry Potter has always been such a big part of my life and (even though my answer is so cliché and over said) is really the main reason I became such a big reader.  Besides Harry Potter, though, I would have to say the Lunar Chronicles, which probably isn’t a big surprise either if you’ve been following this blog for a while.

2. Ice cream or popsicles? 

Definitely ice cream.  For me, popsicles are just way too hard to eat and they take too long unless you’re willing to bite them, which will make your teeth feel all nasty and cold.  There’s also a lot more variety for ice cream flavors besides just your traditional fruity popsicles.  

3. What is your blog focused on?  

Books all the way!  🙂

4. Favorite movie? 

I actually don’t watch a ton of movies that aren’t your typical book-to-movie adaptations, but I watched Admissions last night and it was crazy and hilarious and all over the place and I really liked it.  I mean, it has Tina Fey in it.  What’s not to love?  

5. What’s your favorite thing about blogging?  

I love interacting with people whose posts I comment on or who comment on my posts.  It’s so fun to be able to discuss my thoughts about books with people who actually also care about books, as opposed to my friends who tend to have very different interests.

Lizette’s Questions: 

6. Thoughts on bunnies?  

I love them! I have a friend of a friend who owns like thirty bunnies (she shows them at fairs and stuff) and she asked my friend to babysit them for a week!  I was allowed to go cuddle with them help and they were so soft and adorable and just overall little balls of wonderful fluff.

7. Do you believe children should be introduced to books at a young age rather than electronics?  Why or why not?

Yes, yes, a thousand times yes!  It breaks my heart to see kids who know how to beat level 376 on Candy Crush yet they can’t tell you the four houses of Harry Potter.  I personally prefer books over electronics any day, and reading is such an important life skill.  I understand the world is changing, but oh my goodness.  Read a book, people.  

8. Why did you start to blog?  

I started to blog because I tend to get super bored during the summer, despite being able to read a lot more.  I didn’t want to just keep reading book after book without taking time to really think about it, so I thought it would be fun to be able to share my thoughts and review every book I read.  I used to review just on Goodreads but I thought it would be more enjoyable for me if I could actually get to better know the people whose reviews I read/read my reviews.  Blogging seemed like the perfect solution. 🙂

9. I dislike when bookstores… 

HIRE PEOPLE WHO KNOW NOTHING ABOUT BOOKS.  Goodness gracious.  It’s so frustrating when bookstores hire people who will compare any dystopian book to the Hunger Games and any fantasy to Harry Potter.  If the people you hire don’t read enough to give better recommendations than that, then they probably shouldn’t be working at a bookstore.  Sometimes they just seem to do really dumb things, too.  Like, you know the cover of Andrew Smith’s 100 Sideways Miles? 

Well, at my local Barnes and Noble about 20 copies of this book had all been shelved upside-downbecause these employees were convinced that the horse had to be standing up the correct way.  Now, I get it.  Growing up, we’ve all been taught the correct way a horse goes.  However, shouldn’t we also be able to realize that it wouldn’t make sense for all the words on the cover to be upside-down just so the horse could be the right way?  And it wouldn’t make sense for the spine to be on the right side and all of the words on the pages to be upside-down as well… but oh, no.  It’s all good because the horse is going the right way now.  *loud sigh* I get that it was probably an innocent mistake but I laughed for like five minutes before taking it upon myself to fix all of them.  

10. I read because… 

I read for so many reasons.  I read because books are guaranteed to always be a lot more entertaining than regular life.  I read because I want to be an author and I read the works of the people I aspire to become.  I read because it’s an easy escape.  I read because YOLO.  (okay, maybe not the last one)


So, thank you again to Priyanka and Lizette for tagging me to do this and for your wonderful questions.  I officially tag:

Rosie @ rosiereads613

Yvo @ It’s All About Books

Annemieke @ A Dance With Books

Nola @ Bookfuls

QuirkyMadsReads

Thuong @ I Read Therefore I Am

Pauline @ Love the Smell of Books 

Kerrie @ Comfy Reading

to do these questions:

1. If you could reread any book from a different perspective than the character it was told by, what book would you read and whose perspective would you want to hear?

2. Are all the other people in your family big readers?

3. What two book parents do you think would be fun to have as real parents?

4. Where is your favorite place to buy books?

5. What is your biggest book pet-peeve?

6. Do you lend out your books?  Why or why not?

7. Which book character would you least like to meet in real life?

8. What is a book that you could read over and over again without getting sick of it?

9. What book made you cry harder than any other?

10. How many books do you think you’ve read in your lifetime?

I can’t wait to hear your answers if you’re interested in participating! Thanks for reading 🙂

9 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Thanks for the tag! I’ll be sure to do it some time soon.
    Enjoy reading your answers. Bunnies are soo adorable and fluffy ❤ I want one! Harry Potter is my favourite book series too along side the Infernal Devices. Agree with you on reading being a valuable skill.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m in agreement with a lot of your answers! Harry Potter is one of my favorite series. And I read Cinder a couple of years ago and wasn’t a fan of it, but I can’t pinpoint why I didn’t like it. I’m a rereader, so I think I’ll give it another try now that I have a copy of Scarlet. And in your reply to Thuong you mentioned TID. OMG, JEM. ❤ I'm actually a Wessa shipper, but I totally ship myself with Jem. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would definitely recommend continuing on with the Lunar Chronicles! For me, they get better and better as they go. I’m halfway through Clockwork Angel right now and I absolutely love the interactions between Will and Tessa, but Jem is so sweet! I’m really enjoying it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I definitely agree with you about the kids and electronics. Candy Crush is actually a very pointless game in my opinion (although my mom would disagree because she actually uses logic to beat the levels). I’m also laughing my ass off at those workers you mentioned because I feel like it should have been logical to shelve it with the words facing up. Oh well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was once a hardcore Candy Crush enthusiast myself but it got incredibly tedious after a while. And about the bookstore: Crazy, isn’t it? I was so shocked at the time but it really was hilarious and one of my favorite bookstore memories 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

