The Liebster Award!

I was recently nominated for the Liebster Award by Chanice from Inside the Mind of a Bibliophile and Emily from The Little Book Affair!  Thank you both so much for the nominations, it means a lot! 🙂 The Liebster Award is a way of recognizing blogs you think are deserving of it, specifically newer/smaller blogs, so thank you again for thinking of me!  You should definitely make sure to check out their blogs.  Also, Chanice nominated me a couple days ago and I answer her questions and have just been waiting to post it, and while I was waiting I was lucky enough to get another nomination from Emily.  I’ll be answering Chanice’s questions that were provided for me, but Emily had awesome questions and answers, too, so I would be sure to check out her post here.

Chanice’s Questions for me: 

1. What is your favorite thing about blogging?

I love the blogging community that you’re immediately surrounded by and welcomed into once you start blogging.  Everyone is so amazing and caring, and I really enjoy hearing so many different people’s opinions.

2.If you could only read one book for the rest of your life which one would it be and why?

Oh my goodness, this is a hard one.  I’m going to cheat a little and say that I would read a bind-up of all of the Harry Potter books, which is a thing that I really, really wish existed.  However, if I could only pick one, I would say Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire because it’s long and that was my favorite book in my favorite series, so that would make sense, right?

3. What’s your favorite snack to eat while reading?

I love eating popcorn (non-greasy, of course, because you don’t want to stain the pages) while I’m reading, just because it kind of adds to the movie theatre feel and I like to read books as if they’re a personal movie in my mind.

4. If you could be one fictional character for a day, who would you choose?

I think I would be George Weasley because the Weasley twins were always my favorite characters in the Harry Potter books and I wouldn’t want to be Fred… 😮 It would also be really fun to be able to be part of the Weasley family and talk to Ron and Ginny and all those fun characters.

5. What is your least favorite genre and why?

I don’t really have a least favorite genre because even though there are some genres that I typically don’t like there are always some really great exceptions.  However, I haven’t actually ever read a hardcore horror novel and I don’t see myself reading one anytime soon, so I guess I’ll go with that.

6. What is your favorite contemporary novel?

My favorite YA contemporary is Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen or any of the John Green books.  As for adult contemporary, definitely House Rules by Jodi Picoult (if you would consider that a contemporary)

7. Who is your favorite book blogger? (Tag them)

Ooh, this is really hard.  I honestly can’t pick one favorite blogger just because I’ve interacted with so many amazing people on here.  I’m going to be cheesy and say that you, reading this, are my favorite blogger because you rock. 🙂

8. Has a book ever changed your life or your perspective on certain things? If so, which book?

I mean, if you think about it, all books “change your ilfe” simply by being a part of them for any small amount of time, but if I’m going to be less philosophical I’m going to play the Harry Potter card and say that those books changed my life because they are the reason why I love reading and why I’m so determined to become an author one day.

9. How many books have you read this year and how close are you to your yearly reading challenge goal?

I actually only recently started using Goodreads again so I don’t have a yearly reading challenge goal set-up and haven’t been keeping track of how many books I’ve read so all I can say is I’ve read some and I want to read more. 🙂

10. What is your favorite book that you’ve read in 2015 so far?

Fairest by Marissa Meyer.  Can’t go wrong with Lunar Chronicles.

11. What is the worst book you’ve ever read?

I’m don’t want to slam this particular book because I don’t want to put you off reading it (it does, after all, have pretty good Goodreads reviews) but I really, really didn’t enjoy The Rose and the Beast by Lia Francesca Block.  The cover isn’t very appealing in my opinion but I was intrigued because they were “enchanting” and “beautiful” and “mesmerizing” fairytale retellings, which I love.  To me, they just really weren’t.  They were super creepy and dark and the different takes on the fairytales were very, very disturbing.  For example, the take on Sleeping Beauty was that instead of pricking her finger on a needle she was pricking her arm to inject heroin.  Not for me.  The writing style was really unique so I really wouldn’t say it was a bad book or “the worst book”, it just really wasn’t what I expected at all so at the time it was incredibly disappointing. If you’ve read this book I would love to hear your thoughts.

11 Random Facts: 

1. My favorite food is pretty much anything with potatoes in it.

2. I am the proud owner of the most spoiler dog in the world.

3. I play tennis and run track.

4. In third grade I won a medal for reading the most minutes in one year in school history… 30,000.

5. In first grade I was reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and it didn’t fit inside my little desk.  We had to have a special place on the counter labeled “Audrey’s books” where I would keep it.

6. I don’t get sick when I read in the car, but I do if I try to watch a movie or go on my phone.

7. I have only been out of the country once – a trip to Germany for three weeks the summer after kindergarten.

8. I used to get extremely sick on airplanes and I threw up seven times on the way to said Germany trip (TMI? sorry)

9. I want to be an author when I grow up.

10. I only have two signed books: one from a small author with a self-published book who came and visited our school, and one Sarah Dessen book that I found at a Half Price Books.

11. The fastest I’ve ever reread the Harry Potter series was over the course of one week when I was extremely sick and stayed home from school.  I literally read all day, everyday, for seven days.  Good times.

I nominate these eleven bloggers.  I attempted to stalk your accounts to make sure you haven’t been nominated before, and I think some of you might have more than 200 followers, but I tried my best: 

Danni Mae

Book’s Anatomy

Shannon @ Books That Love You Back

Andy @ Too Many Books, Not Enough Shelves

Jeanette @ Myriad Inklings

Sarah and Faith @ SublimeReads

The Girl Who Reads

Fantasy Islanders

Heather @ heatherrrdaniela

Shannon @ booklovingshannon

Bookwormaniac

My questions for these wonderful bloggers are: 

1. Would rather you rather never be able to read again or never be able to write again?

2. What is a bookish sport/event that you wish existed in real life?

3. What is a series that you think is underrated?

4. What is a book that you liked “before it was cool”?

5. How do you like to organize your bookshelves?

6. Who, in your opinion, is the ultimate book villain?

7. What book has a horrible cover but a great story?

8. What is a hyped book/series that you never see yourself reading?

9. What is a book that you want to seen turned into a movie?

10. What book animal/creature would you like to have as a pet?

11. What’s the least amount of pages it took you to decide to not finish a book?  What book and why?


Thank you so much again for nominating me, Chanice and Emily!  I can’t wait to read the posts of the people I nominated.

Thanks for reading 🙂

9 thoughts on “The Liebster Award!

Leave a Reply

