Tag: MID YEAR BOOK FREAK-OUT

Booktag!

Hey, hey, hey! It’s been a while since I did a tag and the wonderful Jess at Princessica of Books tagged me to do the fun “Mid Year Book Freak-Out” tag, so I thought this would be a perfect time to do it!  I’m sorry if you tagged me to do a challenge and I haven’t done it yet… I’m not trying to ignore anyone, I’m just incredibly forgetful.  If all goes well you can expect many more tags on this blog soon.

Basically in this tag I’ll be answering 14 questions based on books I’ve read in 2015.  Unfortunately, I severely slacked on my Goodreads activity for the beginning half of this year and have only recently started that up again and begun blogging so I’ll be doing my best with the books I remember and know for sure I’ve read this year.  So let’s get into the questions, shall we?

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015:

I’m going to have to go with Fairest by Marissa Meyer.  It was short, but it was such a fun story and a great insight into the life of Queen Levana.  Plus, it’s helping me cope with the fact that I still have to wait several months for the release of Winter.

2. Best sequel you’ve read in 2015:

I’ve actually only gotten around to reading about two sequels this year if I’m remembering correctly, but that’s okay because one of them was absolutely outstanding: The Heir by Kiera Cass.  I know that these books – for most people – are either you love them or you hate them but I love them and this book was no exception.  It’s just such a fun story and I’m glad I finally got around to reading it.  It didn’t disappoint.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to: 

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas!  I’ve been hearing such great things about this new release and the premise sounds so intriguing that I just have to pick it up.  I’ve only read one other book by her (Throne of Glass) and I wasn’t a huge fan but this book sounds like it would appeal to me much more – especially since it’s a fairytale retelling – and I’m hoping to pick up a copy very, very soon.  

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year:

I don’t think I really need to answer this one, because I’ve only brought it up about 250,000 times on my blog already.  If, however, you are new here or you temporarily lost your memory: first of all, good luck getting your memory back and second of all, I absolutely cannot wait for the release of Winter by Marissa Meyer. It’s over 800 pages people.  I need it.  Now.  Thanks. 🙂

5. Biggest disappointment: 

This disappointment literally occurred like two days ago when I started reading Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.  You have no idea how excited I was for that book (or maybe you do, if you read about it in my haul) but I was extremely let down.  I stopped reading less than 100 pages in because I’m just not enjoying it at all.  The “funny” main characters Greg and Earl have a sense of humor that is certainly different from mine.  All of their interactions are so very immature that I skipped over most of them.  The “dying girl”, Rachel, seems to have no personality, and her sole purpose is to laugh at every unfunny thing Greg says.  I can’t relate to any of the characters, and the plot (is there really a plot?) just isn’t keeping my attention.  I’ve put it down as of right now because I’m just not in the mood to even attempt to get through that, but I’d be willing to pick it back up later.  I mean, it has to get better if it’s so loved by so many people and was made into a movie, right?  Right?  Ugh.  The sense of humor in this book is similar to that of Winger by Andrew Smith which I actually really (see upcoming questions), but that book had an great plot and many strong characters.  Do I just need to keep on keeping on?  Please help.  I really wanted to love this book. 😦 

6. Biggest surprise: 

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray 100%.  Judging from the cover of this book, it looks incredibly weird.  Reading of the back of the book, it sounds incredibly weird.  The actual book?  It’s incredibly weird.  But like, good weird.  Incredibly good weird.  The was my first book by Libba Bray, but I know I need to pick up some more of her work soon because I was so pleasantly surprised by how much I loved this book.  I have never laughed out loud that many times in one book.  It’s great.  Don’t let the cover scare you away.  The amazing story inside is worth the weird looks you’ll get from carrying it around.

7. Favorite new author: 

Definitely Andrew Smith.  Maybe I’m not qualified to list him as a favorite author quite yet because I’ve only read one of his books, but honestly, that was enough for me.  Winger by Andrew Smith is a book like no other. It’s pretty thick, but I read it in two days just because it was so easy to keep reading. It has cool pictures, a hilarious narrative, and an ending that made me cry like a baby. I’m hoping to pick up 100 Sideways Miles in my next BookOutlet order, and you can bet that the second the sequel to Winger is released I will be reading and reviewing it. The only thing I didn’t love about it was that there was frequent swearing, and sometimes it just seemed kind of unnecessary, but I’m definitely willing (and hoping) to give more of his books a chance.     

8. Newest Fictional Crush: 

Patrick from Something Real by Heather Demetrios is definitely all relationship goals rolled up into one amazing person.  He’s funny, and he’s sweet, and he’s the most understanding guy I’ve ever read about in any book relationship.  He’s the best, and I wish I could read about him in more than just one book.  

9. Newest Favorite Character: 

Frank from Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella! It’s been way too long since I’ve read a book with this crazy of a family and this sassy of a brother.  His interactions and arguments with his mom are absolutely hilarious – he has such a quick wit.  I also really love how supportive he is of his sister and his overall character developed throughout the series.  Definitely sibling goals. Again, he’s the type of character I just know I’m going to miss and want more of when I finish the book.

10. Book that made you cry: 

Any book from Jodi Picoult ever, but most recently The Storyteller.  The ending gave me so many emotions that I didn’t know what to do with so I released the in the form of tears streaming down my face and rants blubbered at my dog.  I’m not crazy… you’d act the same way if you read the book (you really should.)

11. Book that made you happy: 

Paper Towns by John Green.  It’s not really a happy book, necessarily, but John Green’s writing is so insightful and hilarious that I always have a smile on my face when I pick up one of his books.

12. Favorite book to movie adaptation you saw this year: 

I actually haven’t seen any yet, but – going back to our good friend John Green – I’m hoping to see Paper Towns very soon and I can tell already that it’s going to be amazing.

13. Favorite post that you’ve done this year: 

I was pretty proud of my parody to Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone ft. my dog mainly because it was the first piece of really creative writing I did on this blog and it got a pretty good response.  I’m hoping to do more similar posts in the future and I’m very excited about it. 🙂

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought this year so far: 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: The Illustrated Edition.  I’m not sure this counts because technically I preordered it and I don’t have it yet, but I know already that it’s going to be absolutely gorgeous and I am so, so excited to have it.  If you have no idea what I’m talking about, let me explain to you in a very civilized manner: 

OH MY GOSH GUYS, HAVEN’T YOU HEARD?  THEY’RE MAKING FULLY ILLUSTRATED EDITIONS OF ALL OF THE HARRY POTTER BOOKS AND ONE BOOK IS COMING OUT EACH YEAR. THEY’RE GOING TO BE SO GORGEOUS AND NOW WE GET TO HAVE EVEN MORE HARRY POTTER STUFF AND EXPERIENCE THE BOOKS ALL OVER AGAIN AND IT’LL BE SO GREAT WOW WOW WOW I’M SO PUMPED.

So, yeah.  It’s casual.


Thanks so much again for the tag, Jess!  I tag these lovely people to did this tag if they have not already done so and are interested:

Kyra and Nikki @ Bookallure

Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff 

Priyanka @ Priyankareads

And anyone else who is interested in participating in this tag – it’s a fun one!

Thanks for reading 🙂

17 thoughts on “Tag: MID YEAR BOOK FREAK-OUT

    • Ahhh I want to read it so bad! I’ll probably be grabbing it on my next trip to Barnes and Noble. I just checked out your review and I agree with so much of what you said! I found myself shipping Eadlyn with so many people that it was more like a love pentagon than a love triangle for me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Excuse me but OH MY GODS ANDREW SMITH! I’ve just read Winger this year too and it totally sold me into the Smith cult. I also read Grasshopper Jungle recently, and while I’m not a big fan of the narrative style, I absolutely love the characters. (And not to shamelessly self-plug, but I think you’ll like this post: http://wp.me/p5Gv39-8u) Clearly, I can go on and on and on, gushing over Smith but I will stop here.

    I also am stoked about the Paper Towns film! It’s screening this week! It’s my favorite JG title and I understand what you say about him and the novel. I’m sorry to hear about MEATDG, though. It’s in my TBR and I hope to pick it up soon. As well as ACOTAR. Maas is such a beloved author and I feel like I’ll enjoy her books. And your preordered HP illustrated edition definitely counts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s a fan of Andrew Smith! I noticed Stand-Off (the sequel) is available for pre-order now, so that’s super exciting. I haven’t read Grasshopper Jungle but it sounds like such a crazy story so I am hoping to check that one out. I’ll be sure to check out your post that you linked! 🙂 I’m hoping to go see the special “Night on the Towns” pre-screening that they’re doing at a theatre near me, or at least one of the first nights it’s out – I’m so excited! I’m interested to hear what you think of MEATDG. I think it has a ton of potential and it seems like a fun writing style but the humor just wasn’t for me and I didn’t want to force myself to get through it. I’ll probably be giving it another try, though.
      Happy reading! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

