Waiting on Wednesday – 7/15/15

f3231-new2bwow

**Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that I participate in each week.  Every Wednesday we pick a book that has not yet been released that we’re really looking forward to being released and talk about it**

Until yesterday, I had no idea what I was going to pick for today’s Waiting on Wednesday.  Like, don’t get me wrong, I’m excited for so many books to come out that it’s probably unhealthy, but none of them were really standing out in my mind as uncontrollable excitement.  That is, until, I stumbled upon this video on PolandbananasBOOKS’ YouTube channel while binge-watching BEA hauls, and now I think I might be in love with this gorgeous synopsis and I just have to share it with you! It being…

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Barnes and Noble                     Amazon                   Goodreads

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. 

This afternoon, her planet was invaded. 

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra – who are barely even talking to each other – are forced to fight their way onto one of the evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit. 

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again. 

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents – including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more – Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes. 

Release Date: October 20, 2015

Publisher: Random House Children’s Books

You have no idea how excited I am.  You have no idea. As I mentioned, some Booktubers brought this book home from BEA and it looks absolutely stunning and it’s also really long!  I don’t know if you know this about me but I love pretty books.  If there’s anything I love more than pretty books, it’s pretty big books.  I highly, highly recommend you check out Christine’s video because she does a nice job of taking off the dust jacket to reveal the beauty underneath and flipping through the pages to show you the craziness inside.

That’s another thing!  This book is told in such a weirdly wonderful way.  Entirely through hacker documents and emails?  For a whole trilogy? That hasn’t been done before.  That’s new and exciting.  I’m excited. Have I made that clear yet?

The premise sounds fascinating too.  It takes place on a different planet, and maybe a little bit in space, and there’s AI in the spaceship that seems to have a mind of its own, and there’s a plague…

Lunar Chronicles anyone?

I love the Lunar Chronicles, I love weird formatting, I love this book already.  It honestly doesn’t sound like a story – it sounds like you’re part of an adventure and you’re investigating pieces of evidence yourself.  I know that Amie Kaufman wrote These Broken Stars which I haven’t read yet but I have heard amazing things about it and her writing.  I haven’t heard a ton about Jay Kristoff but anyone who thinks up a book like this has to be great, right?  Not to mention that it’s blurbed by Marie Lu.  Marie Lu has never lead us wrong.

I’m so excited.  I’d really recommend checking out Christine’s video to absorb the glory that is this book, scrolling through some Goodreads reviews (while avoiding spoilers) because some people have posted some up-close shots of gorgeous pages, and going to Amazon because they have some sneak previews of some of the pages and it just sounds so cool and unique and fun and GAH.  Also, while you’re on Amazon, you might note that it is less than $10 to preorder this unique, brand-new, hardback book.  Just saying.

Thanks for reading!  Do you think you’ll pick up this book once it’s out?  I know I will. What books are you looking forward to?  If you did a Waiting on Wednesday post today, let me know!  I’d love to read it.  Thanks for reading. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday – 7/15/15

Leave a Reply

