Top Ten Tuesday: Last 10 Books That Came Into My Possession / BOOKHAUL

ed9d5-toptentuesday

**Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish which selects a category each week and we pick our top ten answers that fit into that category**

Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

This category can include ebooks, library books, etc. but all of the books in my list are going to be books that I’ve bought because I’ve actually bought a ton of books this month and haven’t acquired any other books in a different way (aka, the reason why I’m broke).  I also can’t seem to follow the rules on Top Ten Tuesdays because I changed the rules last week and I’m going to be doing that again this week because I actually have fourteen books that I’ve bought all pretty much at the same time and I don’t want to leave any books out.  Please don’t take away my internet because I’m so rebellious.  I mean, I might as well just use this as a bookhaul time, right?  It just works so perfectly.

The first eleven books on this list I got from BookOutlet and the last three I got from Half Price Books.

1. Tumble and Fall by Alexandra Coutts

Goodreads

I bought this book because the cover really caught my eye and the premise sounded really interesting.  It was super cheap at the time so it was kind of an impulse buy since I was already ordering a cart, but since receiving it I’ve looked into it more and it sounds like it has pretty bad reviews for pretty good reasons.  I don’t know for sure if I’m going to end up reading this one, but it probably won’t be for a while if I do.  Like, I’ve never seen that low of an average rating on Goodreads.  #disappointment

2. Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

Goodreads

I’ve seen this book everywhere and I’ve never really had any desire to read it but it was super cheap on BookOutlet and it’s one of my best friend’s favorite books.  It seems kind of mysterious and contemporary with a fantasy twist, but I’m trying not to read anything about it because I want to go into this book blind.  I know a lot of people are fans of some of Zevin’s other books, too, so I’m holding out hope that this will be a good one.

3. Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Goodreads

I’ve wanted to read this book for so long.  I haven’t heard too many amazing things about it but the premise has always intrigued me so I really want to see for myself if it’s worth all the hype I’ve given it in my mind.  From what I’ve gathered it takes place in a dystopian world where you take these tests to see what your genes are.  The main character tests positive for “Homicidal Tendency Syndrome” which means that it’s in her genes that she will someday kill someone.  She becomes an outcast and the only other people she can be accepted by are people who also have HTS… who may just be killers.  I don’t know, it just sounds super exciting and I really want to read it soon.

4. Landline by Rainbow Rowelllandline

Goodreads

I’m pretty sure I don’t need to explain this one.  It’s Rainbow Rowell and it was super cheap on BookOutlet.  I read this one the day it came in and I loved it.  Review with more in-depth plot details and thoughts here.

5. The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Goodreads

This is a book that I’ve seen a decent amount of people haul but I haven’t heard this book surrounded by gushing, in-love reviews.  It sounds like a cutesy contemporary, however, and I’m never not in the mood for those.  It basically sounds like a story about a rich boy and a not-so rich girl who – despite the girl’s mother advising her to avoid “untrustworthy” rich people – fall in love and face the challenges that come with trying to date despite all of their differences.  Sounds cute, sounds fun, and I’ll definitely be trying to read this short little book this summer.

6. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Goodreads

Who hasn’t heard of this book?  Everyone seems to be reading and loving this book and I can’t wait until it’s my turn.  Especially with Robyn Schneider just releases a new book that sounds like it’s even more amazing, I can’t wait to see what this author has to offer!  I’m not researching very much about this book because I want to just dive right in, but it basically sounds like everything goes wrong in this boy’s life and then he falls in love and I’m guessing shenanigans will ensue.  I’m. So. Pumped.

7. The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas

Goodreads

I’ve honestly heard nothing about this book but it sounds so amazing.  When I saw it on Goodreads I went to Barnes and Noble to read a sample, and this book honestly should win an award just for having the best hook ever.

Just before the start of Summer Half, in April 1883, a very minor event took place at Eton College, that vulnerable and illustrious English public school for boys.  A sixteen-year-old pupil named Archer Fairfax returned from a three-the burning skymonth absence, caused by a fractured femur, to resume his education.

Almost every word in the preceding sentence is false. Archer Fairfax had not suffered a broken limb.  He had never before set foot in Eton.  His name was not Archer Fairfax.  And he was not, in fact, even a he.

This is the story of a girl who fooled a thousand boys, a boy who fooled an entire country, a partnership that would change the fate of realms, and a power to challenge the greatest tyrant the world had ever known.

Expect magic.

Um, what?  I bought it immediately.  I’m so excited for this one.

8. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Goodreads

I know almost nothing about this book.  It sounds kind of strange and creepy and mysterious, and I’m pretty sure it takes place at a boarding school (who doesn’t love a good boarding school book?).  From the reviews I’ve seen it sounds like you either love it or you hate it, and I’m interested to see where I fall.

9. The Vow by Jessica Martinez

Goodreads

I had never heard of this book or author until I saw it on BookOutlet, but now that I found it I’m so excited to read it.  The premise is simple but crazy and really unique.  The story follows two friends, and one of the friends – Mo – has his father lose his job.  Because his dad is allowed in the United States because he has a work visa, they’re now going to be forced to move back to Jordan.  His longtime bestfriend, Annie, is willing to do anything to keep him with in the US, and has the idea that they pretend to be in love and get married so that he can stay in the United States.  What?  It sounds exciting and sweet, and it’s definitely a really unique take on romance.

10. The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Goodreadsthe host

I started reading this book a long time ago and got about halfway through before I got distracted by other books and had to return it to the library.  I really wanted to continue reading it at some point so when I saw it cheap on BookOutlet I decided to pick it up.  I hope to finish reading it soon because I really liked the story although I think everyone has resigned themselves to the fact that there’s never going to be a sequel.

11. Little Women

Goodreads

This was one of my favorite books when I was younger, so imagine my surprise when I saw it on BookOutlet and read that it contained an astounding 700+ pages.  The book I loved as a kid was obviously incredibly revised so I really want to read the full story for the first time and see what I think of it.

12. Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult

Goodreads

I know very little about this book but I’m always in the mood for more Jodi Picoult.  From what I can gather it’s about a little girl who is talking to her “imaginary friends” but is believed to actually be hearing the voice of God.  It sounds very controversial and crazy and I’m really interested to read how Picoult weaves one of her beautiful stories with this topic.

13. Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Goodreads

I promise I didn’t just buy this book because I share the same name as the main character.  I’ve heard so many great things about Sophie Kinsella but I have yet to read a book from her, so when I heard she was coming out with a young adult book I knew I had to get my hands on it.  It sounds like a really fun story and flipping through the pages I saw that there were some parts that were told in a script format which is always cool to read.  The main character, Audrey, suffers from anxiety and the book follows her throughout her day-to-day life as she tries to manage that.

And last, but certainly not least…

14. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Goodreads

WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE MY EXCITEMENT. *puts hipster glasses on* I wanted to read this book before it was cool.  (Of course, then I waited three years to actually get myself a copy so maybe that doesn’t actually count).  I have this book, and it’s a movie, and it’s such a pretty book, and I’m reading it next, and I’m so excited, and I don’t think this sentence has enough commas yet do you?, and ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,


Happy Tuesday!  Thanks for reading, I’m sorry – I know it was kind of long, but I’m known to get pretty ramble-y when it comes to talking about books I love and I think you guys tolerate hearing about it more than my parents.

Have you read any of the books on my list?  If you did, what did you think of them?  or Did you participate in Top Ten Tuesday this week?  Let me know!  I’d love to check yours out.

