Review #2: Miss Match by Erynn Mangum

No-Spoiler Review for Miss Match by Erynn Mangum

Details: Book #1 in the Lauren Holbrook series

Pages: 365

Rating: 4/5 stars

“There’s nothing like two people in love to make you feel (A) happy, love-dovey, and dreamy or (B) positively lonely.”

Lauren Holbrook is perfectly happy knowing that she is never going to married.  She’s lived 23 successful years and has learned that she doesn’t need any man to make her happy.  Instead, she spends her time match-making her friends with people she thinks are their perfect partner, and so far she’s had a 100% success rate.

When her ultimate match-making challenge arrives – setting up grumpy co-worker Ruby up with charismatic Singles’ Biblestudy pastor Nick – she’ll need to work together with new people, new friends, and maybe, just maybe, newfound love?

This book was recommended to me by a friend and because I found a used copy that was very inexpensive I decided to pick it up.  I was a little hesitant going into it and very unsure if it would appeal to me at all for multiple reasons.  First of all (though she’s written many more books now), this was Erynn Mangum’s debut novel and it’s categorized as a Christian novel.  Now, I have no issue with books that are centered around Christianity.  I am a Christian and I think that Christian novels can be just as entertaining if not more entertaining than typical fiction books.  However, with Christian novels – at least in my opinion – it’s often really hard to do them right.  It’s very hard to find a balance between a book that is fun to read but also has subtle Christian lessons and value and a book that comes off as overly preachy.

This book was everything I hoped it would be.  The narrator, Lauren, was absolutely hilarious and had such a great personality.  She was confidently awkward and I can easily say that this was the first book I’ve read in a very long time that didn’t have a single dull moment.  I also think that a lot of readers could relate to Lauren.  After all, we’re all pretty notoriously known shippers, and that’s exactly what Lauren does best.

Also in this book there were so many different little subplots going on – what with all of the matchmaking Lauren was doing – but they intertwined so it was easy to keep track of them.  Going along with that, there were so many characters in this book that every time a new one was introduced I was worried I wouldn’t remember who they were.  For me, this wasn’t an issue at all.  Every character had a distinct personality that made them recognizable, instead of all seeming like the same person under a different name.

As for the Christianity aspects of this book, I thought it was very well-done.  The storyline isn’t really at all centered mainly around church.  Instead, you have an incredibly fun plotline that had some Christian elements thrown in.  I really don’t think you’d need to be a Christian or have any knowledge of Christianity in order to read this book.  If you’re interested in learning more about Christianity: read this book.  If you’re not: read this book.  I think everyone could read an enjoy this book; I’d definitely recommend it.

I gave this book 4 stars because it was a really great book but it wasn’t completely life-changing or mind-blowing.  If you’re looking for a fun, easy, and quick read, this book is definitely for you.

Unfortunately, a lot of larger booksellers don’t carry this book, although Barnes and Noble has the second and third books in the series.  Here‘s where I got my copy.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Cover Review: Meh.  It's what's on the inside that counts, right?  And trust me, the covers get better as the series goes on.
Cover Review: Meh. It’s what’s on the inside that counts, right?
Leave a Reply

